Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

I Was in an Abusive “Relationship” for Almost a Year: Maybe Third Time’s the Charm?

Ladies, listen up! I’ve been in a similar situation before. Take care of yourself. Stand firm in how you feel, and what you believe in. You deserve respect.

Remain In Me

Abuse. I still get uncomfortable when I use that word to describe something I’ve been through. You see, I don’t feel like I deserve to use the word because a hand was never raised, bruises never bloomed and blood was never shed. The word abuse usually brings forth a picture of something physical in our minds, but what we sometimes forget is that emotional abuse exists and it’s real. This is something I can unfortunately attest to.


“Who’s that guy in the picture with you?”

“Oh, him? He’s the homie.”

“Has he ever tried anything with you? Did you guys date? Have you guys slept together?”

“No! He’s just a friend.”

***

“Who are you out with?”

“A friend from class.”

“Boy? Girl?”

“Girl. Her name is X. Why are you asking me who I’m out with?”

“Because I’m trying to make sure you’re not out with some guy.”

“But…

View original post 1,844 more words

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2016 by in Life.

Navigation

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 766 other followers

