Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

A Love Affair with My Bathtub

A Love Affair with My Bathtub

It’s that time of the night again.  My sinuses have been acting up as Pittsburgh can’t decide if it’s spring or winter.  I feel almost as if I were back in Florida, with no real seasons.  As Josh ‘settles’ in for the night, he plugs in his video game controller, and headset.  That’s my cue to escape. I sneak off into the bathroom, all my goodies in tow.  I crank the knobs to the left to let the water flow into our not-so-perfect bathtub.  As the water spills out of the spigot, I dump in baking soda (to detox), tea tree oil (to clear the sinuses), and whatever bubble bath I have on hand.  I make sure the door is securely shut, so that Tucker doesn’t barge in and let out all of the steam.  After all, this is my time.  I settle into the water, hearing Josh in the other room, getting worked up over who is playing what game well, and so on.  I’m sure Tucker is outside the door, begging to come in.  He isn’t much of a fan of the yelling like me.  This is where I can think a little more without the distractions of the outside.  No fiance (don’t worry, I’ll get to that later), no dog, and certainly no phone.  Perhaps I’ll leave my tablet out of reach with some soothing music, or maybe I will just enjoy the drip-drip of the faucet, while I turn the to the next page in my book.  My bathtub resembles me; broken tiles, rusty hardware, certainly not brand new.  Like me, I’ve been through some hard times.  Some times, that’s why I retreat to the bath, after a long day.  Though it doesn’t solve my problems. I get some peace of mind.  I can just breathe, think, or not think, if that’s what I choose.  This is my time. And my tub accepts me for who I am.  No judgement over unshaved legs.  If tears pour down my face, it absorbs them, taking them in as it’s own.  No matter my size, my affair continues.  But, then reality sets in.  The water cools, the steam drops, my fingers wrinkle.  It’s time to go.  To return to the real world.  I pull the plug, and watch the water swirl round and round, until there is none left. After drying and changing, I slip my engagement ring back on (only because I don’t want it to fall down the drain).  Though I will return to the tub, that I’m certain, I’m also certain of how truly blessed I am for the reality I really have.  Though I may not understand the intensity of an XBox One, or I need a break from a needy pup that only wants to play all the time, I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  Until next time…

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2016 by in Life, Life, Love, Thoughts and tagged , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 766 other followers

