jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Thankful

Happy Thanksgiving, ya’ll! Wow, did I just use ya’ll as a word? I guess Josh is turning me even more into a country girl than I thought.
Today is a day of thanks. We gather around our crowded tables, piles of food before our eyes, which are always way bigger than our stomachs. We give a blessing and share about what we are thankful for and how we feel so blessed. And we really are. But, as I gather with friends and family this year, I wonder how many of us really feel thankful all year round. I know that’s kind of a negative thought on such a positive holiday, but it really does make me wonder. Many use the month of November to post a thing they are thankful for each day on Facebook. Why does it have to be just in November? I suppose it is the season. But as I write this, I look at this past year and think of all I have to be thankful for. Not just from this month, today, or this past week, but for all that has happened in my life, both good and bad. So this is what I’m thankful for this past year:
I’m thankful for tough decisions. Since last Thanksgiving, Josh and I made the difficult decision to move away from everything familiar. Though it’s been hard, and it can be very lonely, it has been an adventure, and I feel like I’ve become even more of a responsible adult.
I’m thankful for Josh, obviously. Even on the days where we want to ring each others necks, I still love him. He pushes me mebtally, emotionally, spiritually, and physically when we are doing Cross fit.
I’m thankful for my health and my lack thereof this year. It’s been really tough, and I have felt very discouraged with my medical issues this year. But God has shown himself through all of this and has healed me in so many ways. I’m thankful for His grace and love for me.
I’m thankful for jobs that I don’t quite enjoy. I know that many do not have jobs or are facing downsizing within their job field. Though it’s not what I want to do as a career, I know that God is using my job to teach me patience and to share my faith with others.
I’m thankful for you guys. I’m thankful to have loyal readers who stick with me even when I don’t post on a regular basis. You guys fuel my creativity and give me motivation to keep on writing.
I know I take way too much for granted, and honestly, my list could be so much longer, but let’s be honest, you don’t want to read my life story. So, I’m going to challenge you to a New Year’s revolution starting today: be thankful everyday. Take a moment to thank God for the good and bad in your life.

What are you thankful for this year?

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2015 by in Faith, Holidays, Life and tagged , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 777 other followers

