jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Stop Being Stupid

Because of the recent outcry by Christians towards Starbucks’ new holiday cups, I think it is giving a bad image to myself. I have, unfortunately, I suppose, been boycotting Starbucks for awhile now, but not over the cups issue. I worked for the company earlier this year, and had the worst experience on the co-worker and management level, as well as the corporation as a whole. I have shared with many my experiences, though I think that people may see me as being a bigoted Christian because they may see my reaction to the company targeted just by my Christian beliefs. What do you think, friends? It is a shame to see the term ‘Christmas’ slowly becoming an offense on the state-side, but you are right, BH. There are such larger issues than how a company chooses to market. In today’s society, so many people become offended by the stupidest things. I feel like people are trying to claim themselves as victims, though they are criticizing and being hurtful to other groups, Christians and non-Christians alike. It’s become a constant circle of hypocrisy. I choose not to shop at Starbucks due to past experiences, and also because I work for a local coffee company (so I feel like I’m cheating on my own employer haha). However, as Christians, we need to love on those baristas that take the brunt of this criticism because it is not their fault. Maybe they would prefer to say Merry Christmas too. Or maybe they don’t celebrate. Either way, each is entitled to his or her own opinion, and as Christians, what we need to focus on the most is to show the love of Jesus to EVERYONE.

THE RIVER WALK

stop being stupid

Be wise, my child, and make my heart glad. Then I will be able to answer my critics. (Proverbs 27:11)

Read: Ezekiel 20:1-49, Hebrews 9:11-28, Psalm 107:1-43, Proverbs 27:11

Relate: About two weeks back I wrote a post titled Don’t Be Stupid. The key verse for the post was 2 Timothy 2:23 which reads: “Again I say, don’t get involved in foolish, ignorant arguments that only start fights.” I then wrote about how we have a tendency to use our social media platforms for the stupidest reasons and to argue about the dumbest things. In such arguments there is no winner and it only hurts all involved.

Considering what has been popping up all over twitter, youtube, and facebook, I am quite a bit depressed. I might as well be talking to a wall because nobody else seems to be listening. In the past twenty-four hours or so I have been pummeled…

View original post 241 more words

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2015 by in Life.

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

