Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Messy Coloring, Messy Lives

  Josh and I have been staying with some friends this past week, while our new apartment gets ready for move in. I’ve become good buddies with their 7-year-old daughter, who has been showing me a lot about kids. I’m use to boys because I have nephews so playing and pretending has been quite different.  But, oh! How much fun I have had. 

Tonight, C and I pulled out our crayons and coloring books, picking and choosing which picture to color. I let her pick one in my big kids coloring book, full of zentangles and fine lines. We dumped the crayons across the table and started on our project, prentending we were knitting a blanket for my new nephew (isn’t she a sweetheart?!).  

Welcome to the world, little Tanner!

 As I worked on some fine lines, C started to color across the page. A couple of years ago I would have probably encouraged her to work within the lines, but as I watched her tonight, a smile spread across my face. Our combination of scribbles and fine lines, mixtures of colors and the story behind our picture reminded me of something so much more important than staying within the lines. Like our coloring, life can get pretty messy. We don’t always stay within the lines, meaning things don’t always go as planned, and we mess up. But, despite all our flaws and imperfections, there is a final masterpiece that is a beautiful combination of all things messy. The only difference is that God can see the final result of our masterpiece way before we finish. 
Because of that, I’m going to encourage getting messy. Don’t stay in the lines. Enjoy life in the good, bad, ugly, and beautiful because there is a masterpiece in the making. 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

2 comments on “Messy Coloring, Messy Lives

  1. praks2271
    October 1, 2015

    Beautiful message Shannon :) Love the last para

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2015 by in Art, Faith, Life and tagged , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

