Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Dreaming Again

The “convention belt”. We’ve all heard that term before. You think of an assembly line. The first time I hear it referring to something else was in Gilmore Girls. Rory was preparing to go to Harvard and had a chance to meet an alumni and his family for dinner and ask a few questions. The show humorously portrayed the family as being molded just for the best school, almost for a social recognition. But there was one daughter out of the three kids that didn’t fit the mold, whom Rory ran into during her time at dinner. The daughter went on to explain how she had diverted from the convention belt long ago, and enjoyed being a bunny at birthday parties and doing other odd jobs. Rory later in the show jumped off the belt to go to Yale which was appalling because she was always destined for Harvard.
Have you ever had your mind set on one thing but have a drastic change once there? Rory goes to yale still from the TV show Gilmore Girls. This year has been full of changes for me for many obvious reasons. For one, I moved across the country with no family in Pennsylvania. I gave up a job that I loved to work at Starbucks temporarily. One of the changes came as a result of job hunting. Earlier in the summer I had applied for a job as a Veteran Benefits Counselor at the University of Pittsburgh. It was a big girl job and also a dream job. I felt like I have tons of experience, a strong resume, and a likable personality. I went through the application process, had a phone interview, and then followed up multiple times, feeling I had landed another interview. I didn’t. The department decided to pursue some other applicants. In retrospect, I probably am not qualified enough to handle the financial side of veteran benefits, but I can justify why I would be good for the job. That’s what I thought anyways.  God had a different plan. As my idea of this office job, working to support veterans was crushed, I began to dream again. Maybe I’m not destined to work with veterans, or at least there. Maybe my love in the written language and in web design is going to lead me somewhere else.  Though I was bummed when I read the email regarding the end of the hiring process, I was in the process actually of updating my church’s Facebook page. God used that specific moment in time to show me He has a different plan for me and that I shouldn’t fear.  If I had been doing something else at the time, I know I would have cried when I received that email.  But, instead, God opened up my dreams.  I realized that maybe I can pursue something else.  My possibilities are literally limitless.

And believe it or not, the same thing happened for another job I recently applied to this past week. Well, similar, not exactly the same.  I applied for a proofreading job, which would require an hour and a half drive one way each day.  Though completely qualified, and approved to move forward with being hired, I made the decision to look closer to home.  I know that my decision wasn’t completely my thoughts.  It required a lot of prayer.  The human side of me really wanted this position.  But, realistically, was it worth the gas money, especially in winter?  Definitely not.  There wasn’t that type of compensation plan.  When I politely declined the offer, I again was put at peace.  BeanThru Salted Caramel Mocha

As of recently, I no longer work for Starbucks, and I can’t tell you how happy I am.  I’m working for a local coffee shop in the meantime, while I pursue some other business ventures.  I look forward to going to work.  I love the small business atmosphere, as well as the management.  It’s been a complete 180.  And I don’t feel like I have to be tied to what I did in college.  It might have taken me over a year to realize that, as well as some missed job opportunities, but I’m opening up my wings.  Maybe I’ll even go back to get another degree someday and find a different passion.  I know God has me at each place in my life to bless me or teach me, and I’m 100% okay with that.   Who knows? Maybe I will end up at Yale.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on September 25, 2015 by in Life, Thoughts, Work and tagged , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers