Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

#AskAwayFriday 5-31-2015 | On Sunday?

AskAwayFriday Graduation

Graduation is in the air, isn’t it?  It’s that time of year where both the beach balls and grad caps come out, and parties are happening left and right.  This past week, my dear friend Jessica graduated college!  A huge congratulations to her! It is not an easy feat, but she did it.  Jessica from The Pen and the Needle and I, in lieu of the excitement, swapped again for Ask Away Friday.  Unsure of what that is? Click here. Why on Sunday? Well, I’ve been terribly late with posting, but Jessica has been on the ball.  So, without further ado, here are the ten questions Jessica asked me, and my answers.  Be sure to see what she has to say about her college experience, and tell her congrats!

Ask Away Friday: All About College

1. What is/was your major, and what made you decide to study it?

I was an Editing, Writing, and Media major at Florida State University (Go Noles!), with a minor in Communications.  What made me choose English? Ha! Well, originally, I thought I wanted to pursue Interior Design because of a program I did through my high school.  I had the opportunity to do an internship with a commercial design firm in downtown Jacksonville, Florida, but then realized that it wasn’t what I wanted to pursue as a career, but wanted to enjoy as a hobby.  So, I went into my freshman year as an undecided major, focusing on doing some basic classes that would put me on the track for Exercise Science.  I was interested in sports injuries, but about two weeks into the program, I realized that I had no desire to go to med school, I wasn’t good at science or math, I am terrified of hospitals, blood, needles, and doctors.  Needless to say, English was the best choice.  I’ve never regretted my decision either.

2. If you could major in anything other than your current major, what would it be?

I kind of want to go back and get a degree in graphic design.  I’m a creative person, and have gotten into freelance web design.

3. What was your best college memory?

Picking just one memory is so hard! Almost anything related to working for the student veterans definitely takes the top of the list, though. Oh, and all my dance classes!

1620889_10203215977779461_1068863112_n

4. Did you make any life-long friends in college?

I would say so!  I’m dating one right now too. (;

Some of the greatest girls!

Some of the greatest girls!

Graduation

5. What is one life lesson you learned while in college?

I learned that I really can get through anything with God.  I went through a pretty difficult break up, which changed a lot of things for me, but knowing that I have God, made me get past it.  Because of that, I was able to depend on His strength for many other things in college.  I learned to trust Him.  That has helped me every day.

6. Did you struggle with “Freshman 15?”

I actually lost weight when I got to FSU!  I walked everywhere because it was often faster than relying on late buses, or for pedestrians to move out of your way when on a bike. FSU is a large campus and for my first two years, my classes were all on the East side, while I lived on the West side.  I took advantage of the amazing Leach Center (our gym), and changed up my eating options.   Thankfully, due to my food allergies, my options at the dining halls were actually a lot healthier because I couldn’t eat the pizza or other less healthy options.  The Leach has actually raised my standards of gyms.  I haven’t come across a nicer gym since.

7. If you could go back and relive one moment from college, what would it be?

For me, it would be walking across the stage at graduation.  I don’t think I have a moment in my life where I have felt more proud of myself.  Struggling with Dyslexia my whole life made my education a little slower in the beginning.  To say to my family (who were ALL able to make it!), the world, God, and myself that I did it was the best feeling ever.  It showed me that I don’t have to be constrained by limitations.

8. Do you still actively participate in activities at your school as an alumni?

Yes and no.  I moved to West Virginia in January of this year, so it’s harder to be a part of events, but up until the move I certainly did. FSU Friends

9. Describe graduation in one word.

Satisfying.

10. Did you start at a community college or go straight to a university? Did you ever regret it?

I went straight from high school to Florida State University.  I think I had about a week and a half of summer break too.  I started in the summer, so I really just graduated and packed and was off.  I wanted to go to a big college and get the full experience, so I definitely don’t regret that part of it.  I think the only downside to going straight to a bigger school was the higher costs.  That is something that I could have done without.  Ha ha!

Of course, I only really watch Seminole football. My step-dad took this awesome picture of Chief Osceola and Renegade.  (Water's Edge Photography)

 My step-dad took this awesome picture of Chief Osceola and Renegade. (Water’s Edge Photography)

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

2 comments on “#AskAwayFriday 5-31-2015 | On Sunday?

  1. starksjessica2013
    May 31, 2015

    Great answers! It’s always interesting to see the types of memories people have after it’s all said and done. Once again, great swap :)

    • Shannon
      May 31, 2015

      Thanks! Again, congratulations on graduating!

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on May 31, 2015 by in Life.

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

