Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

#WorshipWednesday 4-8-2015 | My Savior Lives

“My Savior My God” by Aaron Shust is one of those songs I’ve heard hundreds of times; so much so that I can sing it word for word, most likely.  But, have you ever had a song where you may know the lyrics by heart, but have never really listened to it before?  That is what happened to me this past week.  On my way home from work one day, I turned on K-Love Radio and this song came on.  I sang along, but as the chorus came, I had that AHA! moment, that moment when the lyrics, the message, really hit home.  As I sang, “My Savior loves, My Savior lives, My Savior’s always there for me! My God He was, my God He is, my God He’s always gonna be!” it hit me just how much He loves me.

You see, moving across the country is hard no matter how many times you have done it.  I remember how hard it was to adjust to Florida when I was 11 and had just moved from Utah.  I was at that awkward pre-teen stage, where you are either in the ‘in’ crowd or your not.  Being new, of course I didn’t know anyone, and had a hard time making friends and finding my way around.  I thought that this move would be easier.  In some ways, it has been.  I’ve moved across the country with my best friend and boyfriend, though I left my family behind.  I moved to a location where I don’t really know anyone, which has left me feeling lonely on some days.  Some days, I even have wondered if I made the right decision.  Did I hear God correctly, or did I listen to my own desires?  Then my mind goes off on a tangent on what if this isn’t working because x,y,z.  We all have those thoughts.

But, then I came across Hebrews 11.  Hebrews 11 starts off saying, “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.”  Talk about reassurance!  After that first verse, I couldn’t stop reading.  I knew God was speaking to me through this passage.  You see, Hebrews 11 talks about, and gives evidence of faith, even when your future is not seen.  Look at Moses.  God assured safety of him and his people because Moses trusted in God.  The same goes for Noah.  He gave Sarah a child, way after she was ‘able’ to have children.  But she was able because of God, and her faith in Him.  She had hope that he would fulfill His promise to her of an offspring, and He did.  Likewise, God promises to guide me in life.

Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you; plans to give you hope and a future.”

How many times have we heard that verse?  Much like Aaron Shust’s song, we have probably heard it quite a few times.  But, I want to point out two things here, one from the song, and one from the verse: The chorus in “My Savior My God” says, “My God’s always there for me!” Emphasis on the ALWAYS.  Even in our darkest times, He won’t leave us.  When Jesus died on the cross, he was forsaken, or, rather, forgotten by God.  Sounds pretty harsh, right?  He was forgotten, so that God would NEVER forget us!  I think that we often forget that when we talk about Jesus dying for our sins.  Yes, Jesus died for our sins.  If he didn’t, we would be forgotten, or lost, to God, and would not be able to spend eternity with Him.  He didn’t just save us from our sins, but saved us from a life of loneliness and despair.  Jeremiah 29:11b emphasises on this too, by claiming that His plans will give us hope.  From the beginning of time, God knew that man would sin, and that Jesus would be the sacrifice to mend our broken relationship with God.  If God knew that the most tragic event in history would happen, and He still used it for His good, glorious ways, how much more can we have hope, knowing that we have a promised place in His kingdom.  Even in our darkest hours, in our days of doubt, we can find hope, thinking on these things. Worship service in a church

Sometimes we need the evidence too.  As I think back on my first move across the country, I see the tough times.  I see the nights spent talking to my best friend on the phone for hours.  I see the weekends spent at home, wishing I had a friend to see.  But, then I see the good things.  The move allowed me to find a great bible study to get plugged into in Florida that gave me friends, encouragement, and even helped me grow my relationship with God.  I went to college in Florida, a feat I never thought I would tackle when I lived in Utah.  There have been so many good things that have come from just a few bad things.  That, to me, is proof.  God helped me through it all.  Not only did He help me, He got me through it.  And, the greatest proof to me is the proof that can be found in the Bible.  Hebrews 11 gives a long list of stories that are living proof of all the good He has done.

God, thank you for the evidence and experiences you have given me to remember you even in the hard times.  I know that I often can’t even see the end of the day.  I loose hope, and I forget you.  Thank you for never forgetting me.  This Easter has opened my eyes to how much you sacrificed.  Lord, let me praise you even on the bad days, and remember you will never leave my side.  I love you, God.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.  

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2015 by in Faith, Life, Worship Wednesday and tagged , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

