Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

#TBT | First Job

I figured since it is Thursday, and I’ve been sharing with all of you my experiences with Starbucks, I would throw it back a little and share a picture with you from my first real job.  Can anyone take a guess at where I worked?

Carmike Cinemas Uniform

If you guessed the movie theater, you are right!  My first summer I came home from college, I got a job at the local Carmike Cinemas as a concessions worker.  And, boy! Did our house smell like popcorn for the entire summer!  Working at Carmike wasn’t a bad experience; I just didn’t appreciate the opportunity to make money.  I was going through physical therapy for my knees that summer because I have osteoarthritis.  Young, I know.  I also worked nights, including grand openings, like the final Harry Potter.  Quite honestly, it was easy work.  What I learned from my experience was that I complain, a lot.  And knowing that I didn’t appreciate work, I have come to be thankful for every opportunity.

Since I graduated from FSU last May, I have now been through two different periods of unemployment, which can be stressful.  Finding employment while I work on my own business, has been a relief, because it gives me an opportunity to earn some extra cash while introducing my business to my new location.

Last week, I talked about what I wanted for my birthday.  I wanted to share with you guys again why I have come to value ACN.  As I have become more involved in this company, I have realized that their movement with Will Play For Food is bigger than I really ever noticed.  Being a part of the receiving end earlier on in life, I value organizations that can help feed those who rely on The Food Pantry in tight situations.

So, why is this so important to me and how does it relate to jobs?  America is known as the land of opportunity. Opportunity is all around us, whether it be to work as a barista, provide top-notch services, go to college, feed families and children in need, or all.  If you want to take up that opportunity to help others, check out my business website and see how you can get involved.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2015 by in Life, Work and tagged , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

