Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

#WorshipWednesday 3-25-2015 | MercyMe “Greater”

This Wednesday I want to share with you guys how God has been showing me value, and worth.

Last Friday, I was finally able to start at Starbucks.  I’ve had four days of training, where I’ve been learning the ins and outs of being a barista.  I honestly have to give it to those who have had this job before.  You don’t really realize how much there is to it until you are the one who is new to the bar.  The computer is a frenzy of buttons, that allow for hundreds, if not more, alterations, choices, additives, and more to each order, which in turn, we have to remember how to make.  The drinks aren’t as bad, though we have to remember what each marking on the cup means.  It’s been kind of intimidating starting out.  There have been mistakes made, and I’ve had to ask for a lot of help.  Thankfully, everyone at work has been very kind and willing to offer advice and help.

That’s been another hard thing about starting at a new job; it can be intimidating to meet new people that you will see on a daily basis.  I tend to overthink situations like these, which makes me become nervous, a little anxious, and slightly shy.  Add that to being new to the area, and I’ve been a mess!

Today, though, I drove myself to work, and kept the station tuned in on K-Love Radio.  It’s exactly what I needed.  I got my worship on, and had a better mindset coming in to work.  It was a good day, and I learned Drive Thru.  I think it’s my favorite part of being a partner at Starbucks in terms of our tasks.  I mean, who wouldn’t love seeing all the adorable dogs that go for a ride with their humans (FYI: You can ask for a Puppy Latte, and the baristas will give you a cup of whipped cream for your pooch to enjoy).

Even though I enjoyed Drive Thru, its still a little hard learning the buttons on the computer to keep up with the tempo.  After all, we are the busiest location.  It can be frustrating and a little discouraging when you are on a roll, and then, bam! you get overwhelmed and just stare at the screen.  It can make you feel lesser.  The same goes for trying to make friends with your coworkers, especially when you are shy.

When I left work, I had K-Love on still, and this song came on.  Not only do I love this song’s beat, but the message couldn’t be clearer.  We often feel like we are falling short of society’s standards, whether we feel socially awkward, are having a hard time catching on to something, or you have a million and two questions to ask.  The world can feel like it is pressing in, and you are being crushed.  MercyMe reminds us, though, that whatever the world may call us, we are redeemed, and that is what God calls us.  Redeemed means saved, and despite all of our shortfalls, we are guaranteed an eternity in heaven, if we believe in Jesus Christ, the cross, and God’s love for us.  How encouraging is that?!

Psalm 139: 13-14a says, “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”  When I read this, I am reminded that we are perfect in God’s eye.  We don’t have to try and impress Him.  We are enough, because He is more than enough.  He is our sustainer.  When we feel beat up, lesser, or discouraged, we can turn to this verse, praise Him for being greater than this world, and remember we are valued.

Spending time in God’s word, and spending time worshipping and praising Him can make a world of difference because it can change your whole view on yourself, your day ahead, and others.

Continue to pray for me friends.  I know God has some great things planned for me, and I am thrilled to be finding brothers and sisters-in-Christ at work.

What has God been saying to you this week?

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2015 by in Faith, Work, Worship Wednesday and tagged , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

