Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

#AskAwayFriday | Mar 6 2015 | All About Change with April Grant

Ask Away Friday text with two headshot pictures

Its another Ask Away Friday and I have had to pleasure to link up with April Grant from Finding Favor.  April is a stay-at-home mom, health enthusiast, and an excellent blogger! Be sure to show her some love!

If you are new here and are unsure what an Ask Away Friday is, you can find all the information here.

This week April and I talked about Lent and change.  She asked some tough questions that really had me think, but were still fun to answer.

Here we go!

**April’s Questions

***My Answers

  1. What, if anything, did you give up for Lent? Why?

I actually have never really given up anything for Lent.  Growing up in a Baptist church, we never really touched on that, though as an adult I find it a practice that doesn’t need a denomination attached to it.

  1. What is a bad habit that you really need to give up?

Worrying.  It’s kind of a hard habit to give up, though, considering I suffer from anxiety.  But, oh! How I would love for that to just disappear!

  1. What is the hardest thing you had to give up or remove from your life?

It’s always hard for me to give up toxic friendships because I am a compassionate person and tend to be a people-pleaser.  I don’t like hurting feelings, which often leads to my own being hurt.  But, I have learned that sometimes you have to let go of the person, and just cherish the memories you have with them.

  1. What is the most sentimental item that you had to give up? Why?

When I was 11 years old, my family moved from Salt Lake City, Utah, to Jacksonville, Florida, which meant lots of downsizing and getting rid of toys, household items, etc.  My best friend had made me an origami winner’s ribbon, where she drew a picture of us two with our horses (we were horse lovers).  It unfortunately made its way to the trash pile somehow, and though it was just a little paper item, it still reminds me of our friendship.  We actually still keep in touch!

  1. What’s something you tried to give up and were successful for a long time, but it crept back in?

Hmmm…this is going to sound so silly, but I am a germaphobe.  I’m not as bad as a lot of people, but when I was in high school, I would only open and close the garbage can with my foot (it was a push lid so just imagine me contorting to get my leg all the way up there).  I haven’t gone back to that too much, though I caught myself doing it the other day.  Little steps. Little steps.  And lots of soap, and GermX.

 

  1. Have you had to sacrifice a dream (for now)? What is it and why?

I think that as a recent grad, a lot of dreams are put on hold in order to find that job straight out of college.  But, I am just trying to take it one day at a time, while reminding myself that working hard, continuing writing, and not giving up will help me to achieve my dreams of traveling, having a home and family, and more. 

  1. If you found the perfect guy (or as close thereto as possible), would you give up Tucker to keep the relationship?

Oh! That is a tough one.  But, I have to say that the guy I’m with right now is pretty much close to as perfect as I can find, and he actually picked out Tucker!  I feel like I’ve won two times over.

  1. What’s the most you’re willing to give up for love?

I have learned from past relationships that when you start sacrificing your standards and dreams, you aren’t in love.  To me, true love is accepting someone for exactly who they are.  Yes, we make sacrifices, such as budgeting, not going out with the girls one night because we just need some us time, but I have learned that if a guy can’t accept me for who I am, then it’s not meant to be. 

  1. As a college student, some classes are great, others, not so much. What class would you give up if you could? Why?

Another toughie…I think I would give up my languages (Spanish) because I took them in high school.  At FSU, the language requirement actually equated to 4 credit hours, even though we met three times a week because the homework was so intensive, they had to count the time spent out of the classroom as an additional credit hour.  I felt like sometimes I had to sacrifice the time spent on my major’s classes to get my Spanish done.

  1. If you quit school today, and money was no object, what would you do?

I would travel.  I want to see the world; explore the ancient ruins, find all the best coffee shops. 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

5 comments on “#AskAwayFriday | Mar 6 2015 | All About Change with April Grant

  1. Pingback: Changing with the Seasons with Shannon {Walking Shoes} #AAF - April Noelle

  2. The Mad Mommy
    March 7, 2015

    Great swap and nice to meet you here at AskAwayFriday, Shannon! Giving up toxic friendships is definitely hard. You are not alone there. I am a worrier too. I always worry that I am not doing enough and it is a bad habit!

  3. starksjessica2013
    March 8, 2015

    Awesome swap! I get how you feel about needing to stop worrying and letting go of toxic friendships – it’s a challenge at first but it gets easier as time goes on ;)

    • Shannon
      March 11, 2015

      That is so true, Jessica! And, as you let go, you become happier. That’s been my experience, anyway.

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2015 by in Faith, Life and tagged , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

