jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Tucker Tuesday 2-24-2015: 10 Facts About Tucker

Welcome to another Tucker Tuesday!  If you are new here, this post is just for you.  Tucker is my wonderful Black Mouth Cur (potentially an ancestor of a Rhodesian Ridgeback? (doesn’t that sound like a breed of dragon from Harry Potter?)) mixed with Boxer pup.  Tucker is the first dog I have ever owned, and I wonder why it took me so long to become a dog person.  Seriously, dogs are the best!

Here are 10 facts, reasons, quirks, and more that make Tucker just so wonderful.

1. When I first saw Tucker at the shelter, he was the happiest dog Josh and I interacted with.  He immediately tackled me in the playpen with tons of slobbery kisses, which was the first time I had ever experienced a dog kiss.

Look at how happy he is.  This photo was taken on the way home from the animal shelter.  Also, look at that tongue!

Look at how happy he is. This photo was taken on the way home from the animal shelter. Also, look at that tongue!

2. Tucker wasn’t Tucker’s name when we adopted him.  His name was Champ, which, to me, a) sounded like a name for a ‘good ol’ boy’ and b) was a little too fratastic.

3. Tucker has the tongue of a giraffe, which he loves to share with you with kisses on the hands, toes, lotioned legs after I shave (he likes the taste, weird dog), and on the lips, which I’m so not okay with, but still makes me laugh.

4. Tucker may be a dog, but he certainly doesn’t know how to dog.  No matter how hard we get him to concentrate before tossing a treat for him to catch, instead of handing it to him, he still can’t catch it.

5. Tucker has no sense of personal space.

I claim this human as my own.

I claim this human as my own.

6. Tucker is a baby, and loves his blankey.  He will eat blankets, cuddle with them, horde them, and even pull a blanket over him with his mouth if you try to tuck him in.

7.  Tucker was raised by cats.  Okay, so Josh and I can’t prove this, but if you saw how he acts, you would understand.  He will purr when he’s really enjoying a sleepy rub down, he cleans his entire body like a cat, he has no backbone like a cat, and more.  The other day, Josh’s niece was playing with him, and he shook his booty like a cat does right before it pounces.  I’m not kidding.

See?! He's sleeping exactly like a cat, on top of Josh!

See?! He’s sleeping exactly like a cat, on top of Josh!

8. Tucker is a picky eater.  He doesn’t like dog food.  Don’t worry, though! He gets cookies (our term for ‘treats’), but he still has to eat dog food.

9. Tucker’s favorite human foods consist of peanut butter, and Goldfish Crackers, just like his mommy.

Is it just me, or does Tucker kind of look like an alien when he eats peanut butter?

Is it just me, or does Tucker kind of look like an alien when he eats peanut butter?

10. Tucker’s adoptive birthday is April 27, and I cannot wait to celebrate it with him.  He is such a bundle of loving joy, and though he may still have separation anxiety, I always want to assure him how much he is loved.  Seriously, adopting has been one of the best things…he is truly a silly little guy (okay, maybe not so little, though he thinks he’s a lap dog), but he has brought me so much happiness.

Puppy Hugs

Do you have any pets?  What are some of facts/quirks about them?  Or is Tucker one of a kind?  

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

2 comments on “Tucker Tuesday 2-24-2015: 10 Facts About Tucker

  1. drakanewh
    March 6, 2015

    Wow, that’s a pretty great mutt you have.

    • Shannon
      March 26, 2015

      Aww thank you, friend! I don’t know how I missed your comment. I apologize for the late delay. I am very blessed with an awesome furry friend!

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2015 by in Life, Tucker Tuesday and tagged , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

