Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Tucker Tuesday: 2-10-2015 All About Love

Love is unconditionalIt’s another Tuesday full of Tucker!

This week being focused on love, I thought I would touch a little more on how God uses Tucker to teach me about Him.

Now, I have been a follower of Christ for a majority of my life, believing that God sent his son Jesus Christ to die on the cross so that our sins could be forgiven.  Our sins are forgiven by asking for forgiveness and believing that God sent Jesus to reconcile us with His love and eternity.  Though I have believed that for a very long time, and still do, as I grow older and understand the world more, I think that we as Christians become distracted by the fact that God’s love for us is unconditional.  Society often pressures us with morals, saying if we do this or that, we have committed the ultimate crime/sin and that will separate us from God’s love.

Boy, do we have it wrong!

Tucker is almost two years old now (can you believe it?!), but still acts like a puppy.  He’s adventurous, having to check out every nook and cranny to make sure that he isn’t missing a treat, or that everyone is safe.  And he is needy!  Last night, he started off by sleeping at the end of the bed, but come the middle of the night, he had squeezed his way in between me and Josh, and cuddled up right next to me, snoring.  Just like a kid.  Now, there are times when he becomes too needy and ends up knocking over a water or stepping on our feet with his sharp claws.  Other times, he does stuff that isn’t an accident, and that he knows is bad.  We all like lists, so let’s make one:

I'm hiding because I ate daddy's shoes. #dogshaming

I’m hiding because I ate daddy’s shoes. #dogshaming

Tucker has:

  1. Destroyed the TV remote
  2. Two XBox One controllers
  3. A pair of dance shoes
  4. A college Chemistry book the week before finals (I’m still hearing about that one from Josh)
  5. Stolen baby toys
  6. Sprayed Josh

The list goes on.  And though, reading this might make you chuckle (it certainly makes me laugh), it wasn’t funny in the moment.  But, just because he did something bad doesn’t mean that we are going to abandon him.  Sure, he may get a little swat, or have to spend some time in his room (crate), but we aren’t going to stop loving him for being bad.  If that’s how the world worked, boy would I be in trouble!

That’s how it works with God.  He doesn’t stop loving us because we may sin.  In fact, the bible tells us otherwise:

John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his one and only son, that whoever believes in him will not perish, but have eternal life.”

Talk about awesome!  But, reading this so often, and being one of the most-quoted scriptures can sometimes be a hinderance.  Because, we might hear it so much that it just becomes a habit.  God has shown me through Tucker how important it is to remember that his love is not a habit, but a living truth every day!

With all those times that Tucker has gotten in trouble, and has been punished, it sucks.  I don’t like telling him ‘no’ or yelling at him, but he has to learn.  Does that mean that Tucker loves me less? Not in the least! If anything, I think that his trust and love for Josh and I has grown over this past year.  His anxiety has gone down a ton when we leave the house, because he knows we love him and aren’t going to just leave him and never come back.  He is always given kisses, cookies, and tons of productive play, as well as bones.  Yes, he is spoiled. But, even on the days when he doesn’t get a reward, he is always so happy to see Josh and I.  He will shower us with kisses, tail-wags, and cuddles.  He loves us unconditionally.

Things may not go as we plan them. We may make mistakes, sin intentionally or unintentionally, but God reminds us how much he loves us not only through the scriptures, but also through everyday life.

Romans 8:39 “ neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

<3

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2015 by in Faith, Life, Life, Love, Thoughts, Tucker Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

