Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

#AskAwayFriday All About Valentine’s Day

Ask Away Friday Feb 6 2015

With Valentine’s Day just a week away, I have decided to run a week-long series revolving around V-Day.  Posts will follow some of my specialty posts, such as Tucker Tuesday’s, and other’s will be completely new.  And what is a better way to kick off my series than with some guest questions!? I have linked up with Jessica Starks again from The Pen and Needle, to answer some questions about love, candy, and relationships.

About Jessica Starks:

Jessica is the author of The Pen and the Needle, a lifestyle and inspirational blog, in which Jessica addresses questions about faith and beliefs, as well as discusses the latest TV shows, with much in between.  She is currently attending college, and is pursuing her dream (and successfully, I might add) to become an author.  Be sure to check her out here!

About Ask Away Fridays:

How does it work?

If you are like me, you might not know what Ask Away Fridays are.  Ask Away Friday is an opportunity for bloggers all around the world to connect by asking each other questions, and linking to each others’ blogs.  Your asking buddy will send you 10 questions, in which you will feature on your own blog with your own answers.  In return, you will ask them 10 questions, and they will do the same.

That being the case, Jessica and I decided to focus on All About Love.  So, without further ado, I share with you her questions, and my answers:

  1. Jessica :Do you believe in love at first sight?

My answer: Love at first sight…hmmm…I think that someone can have an extreme attraction at first sight, but to truly fall in love, I think you need to spend time with someone.  To me, love is based on so much more than the front that people put on.  There is so much more to people than what is shown on the surface.  Love comes from personality, beliefs, treatment, passions, and so much more.

  1. Are you or have you ever been in love?

Yes! I actually have been in love before, but I am so much more in love now.  I think that going through a heartbreak can actually teach us a thing or two and really prepare us for true love that is meant to last; not our high school sweethearts.

  1. What are your plans for Valentine’s Day this year?

At this point in time, I don’t really know.  Hopefully the boyfriend is planning something special. ((:

  1. What’s your favorite Valentine’s Day memory?

I don’t know if this is my favorite Valentine’s Day memory, but it is certainly one that is most memorable.  When I was going into the sixth grade, my family moved down to Florida.  I have always been more on the quiet side, which makes it hard to make a lot of friends in those pre-teen years.  When I was in the sixth grade, I was at a new school, and there was this boy that really liked me.  He made me a love letter Valentine that included a poem and drawings.  It made me feel so special! He also bought me ice cream almost every day that year at lunch.  Ha!

  1. What is your favorite Valentine’s Day candy?

For the longest time, I didn’t really have a favorite candy.  I had been allergic to chocolate for a good chunk of time (the past five years!), and suddenly, whala!  My allergy went away (bodies are weird like that).  So, I think this year I will pick something along the lines of a Reese’s Peanut Butter cup or heart (if they make them like the Easter eggs).  Peanut butter was my go to for the last many years to substitute for chocolate, so really anything with peanut butter. It’s my favorite!

  1. You choose – flowers or a teddy bear?

Ooo, that’s a tough one.  On the one hand, I have always wanted to get a huge bouquet of flowers (I think that’s a dancer thing), but I think it would be such a cute and fun date to take your girlfriend to Build-a-Bear for Valentine’s Day, or make a Build-a-Bear for your girlfriend for Valentine’s Day, because you made it with intention, not just bought it (hint hint wink wink to my boyfriend).

  1. What’s the worst Valentine’s Day gift you’ve ever gotten?

One year, my boyfriend (not the current one) had brought flowers for my mom for Valentine’s Day.  He obviously wanted to be on her good side, but he didn’t bring me a thing!

  1. Would you ever want to get married on Valentine’s Day? Why or why not?

I wouldn’t want to get married on Valentine’s Day because it is more of a Hallmark holiday.  I would rather be married on a date that would be meaningful to us as a couple. Plus, I think it would be necessary to have pinks and reds as your colors, and though I like those colors, they aren’t what I see for my dream wedding.

  1. Do you have any V-Day traditions?

I like to make cards for my friends for Valentine’s Day.  Making a gift or even a simple card is always so much more meaningful.

  1. Tell us something random about yourself that we don’t know!

Though I think special dates shouldn’t be on holidays (see my answer to number 8), my birthday is actually on St. Patrick’s Day! It’s always fun to claim my birthday as my favorite holiday just to say I can, though Christmas is my favorite holiday.

Do you want to be featured or participate in Ask Away Friday?  Contact me on my contact page, and we will make it happen! 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

10 comments on “#AskAwayFriday All About Valentine’s Day

  1. Stacey Gannett
    February 6, 2015

    Wonderful swap, Shannon! I am with you, I don’t think I would want to get hitched on Valentine’s day either. Oh no, flowers for mom and not for the girlfriend! I would think that mom would have been more impressed seeing you get the gift…as a mom I would be! I love build a bear…they are so darn cute! Happy Friday and have a great weekend!

    • Shannon
      February 9, 2015

      Ha! My mom saw it as a sign, but I should’ve known better. (;

  2. starksjessica2013
    February 7, 2015

    Awesome answers to my questions! I really enjoyed swapping with you this week!

  3. starksjessica2013
    February 7, 2015

    I really enjoyed swapping with you this week! Awesome answers to my questions :)

    • Shannon
      February 9, 2015

      Thanks, Jessica! As always, it is so fun to swap with you. (:

  4. Stacey Gannett
    February 8, 2015

    I really thought that I had already commented…so if this is a double…I apologize. :) I don’t think that I would ever want to get married on Valentine’s day either. Too much hullabaloo. Oh Build A Bear’s are so much fun, I have been able to get each of the kids one over the years. Have a great weekend, Shannon!

    • Shannon
      February 9, 2015

      Thanks, Stacey! I think Build-a-Bear’s are so meaningful in so many different ways because they surround an experience.

  5. Pingback: #AskAwayFriday 2-13-2015 with Stacey from This Momma’s Ramblings | Walking Shoes

  6. Pingback: #AskAwayFriday | Mar 6 2015 | All About Change with April Grant | Walking Shoes

  7. Pingback: #AskAwayFriday 5-31-2015 | On Sunday? | Walking Shoes

Talk to Me

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

