jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Santa Fe Casserole

Santa Fe Casserole

Santa Fe Casserole

Today was a no-good, dirty, rotten, terribly bad day.  Okay, that may be a little over-dramatic, but today was not a fun day, to say the least.  About a week ago, Josh and I made the move to West Virginia. Big news right?  Don’t worry, I’ll fill all of you in soon.  It has been an incredible journey thus far, and has made me realize quite a bit of different things. For one, I can understand now why my mom was so excited to move to Florida when I was younger.  But with any adventure, there comes the trials and obstacles, and today was just one of those obstacle kind of days.

We are located in a small town in West Virginia called Weirton.  It’s so small that yesterday I was in Ohio to do some shopping, and today I was in Pennsylvania for a job fair.  That’s where the story begins.  With any move, means the moving and transitioning of jobs.  Josh has a few leads, whereas I’m starting from scratch again.  I am both hopeful and excited, but also slightly frustrated because the process takes awhile when searching for a new job.  With that search comes job fairs, which brought us to Pennsylvania today.

The drive was about an hour and a half hours one way.  We arrived after navigating slick roads, and taking extra precaution due to some icy accidents.  As we walked into the room at the Hampton Hotel where the job fair was being hosted, we saw good deal of tables, but they were empty.  Yes, empty.  There was only one table that was occupied, and they were hiring for the coal mines.  Now, I understand that working in a coal mine is a great job, and one that I respect immensely.  However, for my training and degree, it wasn’t going to make the cut.  I felt tired.  I had spent all morning making a resume for Josh, and finished sprucing up mine.  I made sure that my clothes were clean and pressed, ready to look professional.  My hair was pulled away from my face.  I felt confident and pretty.  On the plus side, the company partners with one that Josh has been working with to get hired, and they did an on-site interview with him.  The trip wasn’t a complete failure, but by the time we got back home, I was quiet.  All I wanted was some comfort food, TV, cuddle time with Tucker, and possibly a nap.  Thankfully we had leftovers from our little Super Bowl watching party last night.

I made a casserole that my mom has been making my entire life.  It is a Mexican-inspired dish, that has become a birthday party favorite, an addition to Christmas Eve dinner when I can’t have the tomatoes in the chilli, and has become a comfort food. My mom would even make it for me whenever I would come home from college for a weekend visit.  It’s both easy and delicious, and a big hit for the taste buds.  So, without further ado, I share with you a great casserole that can feed 6 people:

Santa Fe Casserole

1 lb. lean ground beef

1 1.25-oz. pkg Lawry’s Taco Spices and Seasonings

2 c. chicken broth

¼ c. flour

1 c. sour cream

1 can (7 oz.) diced green chilies

1 11-oz pkg corn or tortilla chips

2 c. (8 oz.) shredded Monterey Jack or Cheddar cheese

½ c. sliced green onions

Optional: Tomato chunks (for the non-allergic), sour cream to add to the top, and/or guacamole, jalapenos or other peppers

In medium skillet, brown meat and stir until crumbly; drain fat. Add taco seasonings; blend well. In small bowl combine broth and flour. Add to mixture, bring to a boil to slightly thicken liquid. Stir in sour cream and chilies; blend well. In 13x9x2-inch lightly greased glass baking dish, place half of chips. Top with half of beef mixture, then half of sauce, half of cheese, and half of green onions. Layer again with remaining ingredients, ending with green onions. Bake, uncovered, in 375* oven for 20 minutes. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! It definitely made my night a little brighter and warmer.

What are some of your favorite comfort foods? 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

