Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Super Bowl Halftime Show Review

I have to admit that this is probably the first time I have ever watched the half time show for the Super Bowl.  When I first heard that Katy Perry was performing, I wasn’t sure what to think.  I like a few of her songs, but her “I Kissed a Girl” isn’t one of my top songs, to say the least.  Going in to the show, I was hesitant, until the music started.  Here is what I thought of the performance:

The Entrance was spectacular! All I could think of was some of the puppets they use within the Olympic Ceremonies, particularly the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City, Utah.  I have seen those puppets in person at one of the downtown parades before, and they are huge, and hard to manage, as I can imagine.  For the entrance to not only include a giant tiger puppet, but one in which Katy Perry rode safely, was impressive, to say the least.  And what was more impressive was the correlation between the geometrics; the

tiger was composed of a geometry, and the same theme reflected in the costuming for ‘Black Horse.’ But the fun didn’t stop there.  Not only where her dancers dressed in a continuous theme, with large horse-head headgear, but Perry’s choreography was enticing, and not in a provocative way.  The same inspiring choreography carried over to Missy Elliot’s backup dancer; inspiring to use dancer folk anyway, who are always looking for inspiration.  Missy was also a fun surprise, though I expected a little more Lenny Kravitz.

What made me giggle a bit, though, was that I could not get Lenny Kravitz out of my mind as Cina from The Hunger Games.  Was Katy Perry wearing the infamous gold eye liner that Cina wore?

Overall, though, and in all seriousness, I was mildly impressed, and thought the finale was just as fitting.  It was a fantastic segway into the #LikeAGirl commercial as well. Not only did Perry’s song touch on the importance of individualism and the opportunity to soar, but she spoke to millions of girls who admire her.  To finalize the importance and empowerment of being a female, #LikeAGirl may end up being a trending topic for more than just a couple of days I’m hoping.  What do you guys think?

What did you think of the halftime show?

 

 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2015 by in Art, Dance, Life, Life, News, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

