jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

10 Words Every Girl Should Learn | Soraya Chemaly

10 Words Every Girl Should Learn | Soraya Chemaly.

 

This article touches on sexism within today’s society and the credibility attributed to women’s speech.  While I am not a feminist, nor do I particularly follow articles and movements on sexism, I found much of this article to be true in recent situations I have encountered.

For example, the other day I had a job interview that consisted of two male interviewers and one female interviewer.  Though I could tell that the female wanted to speak to me personally regarding the position (I would be taking over her position), she did not speak up much with any questions or concerns.  The boss, being male, however, not only asked questions, but when I went on to explain my answers and respond to a comment he made, he would cut me off.  At first, I thought that I wasn’t doing well with the interview, that maybe I was talking too much about me, but isn’t that what an interview is supposed to be?  Aren’t you suppose to ‘sell’ yourself to the employer?  By essentially selling yourself, you have to speak up and say why you would be good for the job.  Instead, the employer, though very friendly and enjoyable to talk to, kept on making wise cracks about some of my responses.  I thought that he might have been just a silly, older gentleman, with a kind and joking heart, but again, isn’t an interview supposed to be promotional?

Likewise, my boyfriend and I had a discussion that same day about the classification of Edgar Allen Poe’s The Raven.  I have not yet read it, but I stated what my understanding of it was.  Before I could explain myself further, though, Josh went off about how it didn’t make sense and how being an English major was pointless if that was the knowledge I was using. I didn’t get a chance to back up my response.  When I finally was able to get a word in edge-wise, I stated what I was trying to say, putting emphasis on my specialty in English (not being literature), and therefore, would have to do the research to have a true and final answer, but how what he said was unfair and hurtful, just because he thought he was right before I could say anything further.553fbfaceebf0be2f9d28028bed9e418

Now I know that not all men fit a certain stereotype, because it is just that: a stereotype.  However, I have found that men tend to be very stubborn, and I think that attributes to their dominance-like attitude when speaking over women.  They don’t like to be wrong.  Nobody likes to be.  However, women tend to be more passive instead of aggressive when it comes to conflict.  Men will tell each other if something is not cool, fight it out, and then bro it out, if you will.  Women go through a deep analysis before making a move when conflict arises, because we tend to not want to hurt anyone or have to deal with the consequences of conflict.

In response to the dominance within religious associations, I believe that male dominance is biblically-based and rightly so.  The bible states that man came first and was created to rule over all living beings, giving names to each animal.  However, being not fully completed, God made woman as a companion.  In Genesis 3, man fell to sin because Eve first ate of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, which was forbidden, convincing her husband to do the same.  As a result, God punished man and woman alike, saying to Eve,

To the woman he said, “I will make your pains in childbearing very severe with painful labor you will give birth to children. Your desire will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.” -Genesis 3:16

Therefore, man is bibically supposed to rule over woman, however this does not mean that woman are not given important tasks or dominance.  However, man also represents the foundation, meaning that in a union between himself and his bride, he represents God and the woman represents the church.  God has dominance over the church and takes care of it, nurturing it, and encouraging the church, loving all.  That is what a husband’s job is within an union.  Marriage is representational of God’s love for the church.  Ephesians 5: 21-33 says,

Instructions for Christian Households

21 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.

22 Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. 23 For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24 Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.

25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy, cleansing[b] her by the washing with water through the word,27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. 28 In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. 29 After all, no one ever hated their own body, but they feed and care for their body, just as Christ does the church— 30 for we are members of his body. 31 “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.”[c]32 This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church. 33 However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

I, as a believer and follower of Christ, believe in this wholeheartedly, but that doesn’t make me a sexist, nor does it make the bible sexist.  I know that many believe that the bible and God are sexist for the roles that he has given to man and woman, but I say, if God is sexist, then why would he give woman a role in the first place?  Proverbs 31 discusses what a woman should be.  The church was began with the intentions of man leading woman, just as God leads the church.  By allowing men to be vessels of God within the church, God is teaching men how to lead women as wives.  Women still hold important places within the church, often as the children’s directors, or event planners.  Just because they have different positions, it does not mean they are lesser than men or not as important in God’s plan.

I do think, though, that women in general everyday life are faced with the difficulty of being heard.  We often are afraid of speaking up within the workplace if we have an idea, because we are afraid to be shot down for not being smart, or not getting credit for an idea.  That happened to me recently at work, where I suggested making a e-newsletter for our department.  I suggested this last year and they turned it down, but not two weeks ago, I received an e-newsletter from my department, but a male worker had created it, instead of the English major here (points at self).  It can be extremely frustrating as a woman.  So, to add to this article, while also giving a biblical view, I suggest using some of these phrases, politely, when encountering a situation in which you want to be heard.

May I please finish my thought?

I have an idea/thought/something to add

Don’t be afraid to say when something was your original thought or phrase, just don’t be rude about it.  Be assertive though, and be heard.  Living in America, we have just as much right to the freedom of speech as males do.  Let’s not lose sight of that right.

 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

