jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Something Wicked This Way Comes & Why Writers Could Be in Great Danger

I left this comment on the post: You are so on point with pretty much your entire post. I wanted to comment especially on your education comments. I think that it can be just as harmful to those who are not winners to receive trophies as it is for those who are competitive. Why? Because those children will learn that they can half-a** something and still be awarded as fairly as someone else. It is building a culture of laziness. I have Dyslexia and while I was in grade school, I couldn’t read. My best friend back then was an avid reader and I wanted to be as good as her, if not better. Guess what. I just graduated from Florida State University with a BA in Editing, Writing, and Media with no records of my Dyslexia anywhere in my file, and with a membership and recognition in Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honors Society! Its a shame that our world has become overly sensitive. The next generations will become more sheltered, and as a result, we will loose some of the great works of art. Romeo and Juliet was pretty much the only focus for my 9th grade English class. I can’t imagine that being gone. So many stories have been based off of that story plot. What if all are erased because they are considered crass or rude? We need to keep on bringing light to the importance of competition. There is such a thing as healthy competition, which results in more acceptance as a whole. I never realized how alive racism and other stereotypes were until I moved to Florida and gained more knowledge of the past. Books like To Kill a Mockingbird or stories by Toni Morrison teach us of a past that isn’t worth reliving. We can learn from this literature to grow our futures to a better tomorrow. Thank you for sharing (and sorry for the long comment!). (:
But, I felt the need to reblog this too, after writing so much because it is important. I do believe that history can repeat itself when it comes to conflict. I’m not saying that it will happen exactly the same way, but we learn from our mistakes. Literature is a great way to teach of our past failures, mistakes, pains, as well as our successes! I get warning children under the age of 14 about sex in books. Please don’t let children that are 8 read some inappropriate stuff, but also be an adult about this. If you are in college and are easily offended by this stuff, you might as well leave because you are not willing to approach subjects with an educated view. Now, don’t get me wrong, there have been plenty of times that I was disgusted by topics that my professors discussed because they bashed my personal believes, but they are also entitled to their opinions. And, if I never heard their opinions, how would I be able to share mine with someone who shared their views and be educated about it? Have you ever had an experience that dealt with overly sensitive people or topics?

Kristen Lamb's Blog

Image courtesy of Raymond Brown via Flickr Creative Commons Image courtesy of Raymond Brown via Flickr Creative Commons

Today, we are going to take a bit of a sideline from our acrostic. Over the holiday weekend, I was resting up from a nasty bout of bronchitis and puttering around Facebook. I’ve been long frustrated with this new culture of “Everyone’s a Winner.” Back in 2005, my young nephew was in soccer. I recall being horrified that everyone received a trophy.

What was the point for working harder? What gain did it give my nephew that I ran extra drills with him after school and off the practice field? He “won” the same trophy as the kid who showed for one game out of the season.

Trying is all that matters.

Deep. Deep. Never mind the TYPO. The person “tried.”

We see all over the news where schools are attempting to cancel Honors events because those kids who didn’t achieve honors…

View original post 1,647 more words

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2014 by in Life.

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

