jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

What A Week Of Groceries Looks Like Around The World

A Week of What Groceries Look Like Around The World….is a eye opener for me in so many ways.

What A Week Of Groceries Looks Like Around The World.

Have you guys ever gotten the case of the gimmes? I’m sure if you have been around kids or have kids of your own, you know what this is.  But, have YOU in particular ever had the gimmes?  As adults, I find that we try to justify our wants with our work ethic. I worked really hard this week and deserve to treat myself. Or, I had a crappy week, this coffee will be a reward, or I deserve to buy something nice for myself because of ‘x’. This is something I have been struggling with recently.  I’ve had the notorious money-burning-a-hole-in-my-pocket syndrome. But, I don’t really “have” the money in American standards. Now let me clarity, I recently graduated with my Bachelor’s from FSU (yay!) and received a good amount of graduation money, and therefore went spending crazy, justifying every purchase. I had worked my booty off, so I deserve some books to read for pleasure. Or, now that I’m in the professional world, I need a professional-looking purse to carry my laptop in (because my backpack won’t due?). Or, my doctor told me that I should buy new running shoes every couple of months for my knees.  Now, the doctor one seems like a pretty legitimate excuse, right? It is until I look at my bank account.

As I looked at the link above, I was humbled and also confronted with the consumerist world we live in. Some people are thankful to just have some simple grains to cook for meals for a week.  And us Americans? Look at the average grocery results.  I shop for myself, my boyfriend, and my dog.  And the result looks very similar. We aren’t a family of four, even!

So, how can this be changed?  As I type this to you, and listen to some Christian hymns and music, I think of Jesus and how he provides for us.  I think of my past and the house I live in, the clothing on my back, and the food in my frig.  How blessed am I? Incredibly! I have no room for the gimme’s.  God knows my needs and my wants.  He knows that I need food and shelter.  He has provided those things to all sorts of people within different financial situations.  Why, then, do I worry, when I live in a country that is considered one of the most fortunate?  Because I want. I am a coveter.

I think that when we encounter situations like this, we need to take a moment to step back and really reflect.  My happiness is not determined by what I own, but should be determined by who owns me as His child. That is God, the Heavenly Father.  I know I have shared this verse many of times, but I always come back to Matthew 6:25-34, which says:

Do Not Worry

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[e]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Lord, I pray that you will change my heart. Remind me of those that are much less fortunate than I, and remind me how extremely blessed I am. I am sorry for coveting in so many ways. You have given me so much to be thankful for, and you always provide for me. I ask that you will help me to manage my finances better, and will glorify you in how I spend.  Lord, I ask that you will provide for me, and for those less fortunate than I. Let me never lose sight of you in this world of consumerism.  In Jesus’ name..;

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2014 by in Faith, Family, Food, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

