jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Weekly Photo Challenge: Grand

Weekly Photo Challenge Prompt Here

What comes to your mind when you think of the words ‘grand’ or ‘big?’  In today’s society, many things come to mind, like a grande coffee at Starbucks, or a Big Mac at McDonald’s.  We think of huge events, parties, and festivities.  But, the sad thing about all of these ‘huge’ things is that they are material items, or temporary pleasures.  I want to draw attention to something much bigger and grander than anything we can ever imagine.  When I look up at the sky, I am reminded of just how small I am in comparison to the never-ending blueness atmosphere that encircles our earth.  And, beyond that, is space; a place that holds many elements that make our sky beautiful and unique every day.  But, the biggest part of this equation is the creator of all of this space or air.  The Master of Beauty.  When I look up at the sky, being reminded that I am small isn’t a bad thing.  It puts my life into perspective.  Not just my life, but every single detail, thought, worry, concern, upset, tear, and more into perspective.  You see, when I look at the sky I think of the beauty that is there and think of how talented and amazing of an artist God is.  He can make beautiful days out of beautiful weather, or can create phenomenal and breath-taking weather patterns and clouds on the most brutal of days, as seen in some of the pictures above.  And, those creations excite me….I think they excite me the most out of all.  Why?  Because it is a physical representation that God makes everything beautiful in His own way.  I think of verses like Jeremiah 29:11 that say, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  This verse is a reminder to me that no matter how difficult times are or how much I am in turmoil, I am in His hands and His plan for me, as well as for every one of you, is so beautiful and unique, just like the sky is every single day.  To me, that is a grand thing.  Something so grand, monumental, and amazing, that it is often forgotten, even by what we term the “strongest” believers.  But, God is bigger.  He is stronger.  He is grander than anything we can ever imagine, and that is seen every single day in the world we live in.

That is why I savor these pictures, because they are reminders of His plan, His beauty, and just how Almighty He is!

Check out some other Photo sharers:

 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on December 11, 2013 by in Art, Faith, Life, Nature, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 777 other followers

