Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Trifextra: Zombie Survival Guide

Rummaging through the rubble, only a book with a faded title.  I opened it.  It was a laughable, childish survival guide.  If only the past knew the truth of its future,  my present.

Artist credit: Dan Duford http://www.poisonedplayground.com

Artist credit: Dan Duford
http://www.poisonedplayground.com

Challenge found here: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

8 comments on “Trifextra: Zombie Survival Guide

  1. Draug419
    October 5, 2013

    Always take survival guides seriously because you never know what’s out there…

    • Shannon
      October 7, 2013

      Are you a believer in zombies, friend?

  2. Cobbie's World
    October 5, 2013

    Sounds like much more to this story than has been written so far! Excellent preamble to, what I hope, is a much longer story. Very well done!

    • Shannon
      October 7, 2013

      Thank you! I can seriously say that with this prompt, which was a limit of 33 words, a ton of editing was done. I don’t know much about zombies, but my boyfriend is a huge Walking Dead fan so that’s where the inspiration came from; that, and I Am Legend. Needless to say, I feel as though I experienced my first thorough self-editing ever with this, even though it was just a short paragraph to begin with.

  3. ewdupler
    October 6, 2013

    This had me smiling as soon as I read the title. I love the idea you came up with. I can’t help but wonder how handy the Zombie Survival Guide – Children’s Edition turned out to be :)

    • Shannon
      October 7, 2013

      Thank you! It will be interesting to see. I’ve had some requests/encouragement to continue with the story, so we shall see.

  4. trifectawriting
    October 7, 2013

    I love this. Ominous. Thanks for linking up!

    • Shannon
      October 7, 2013

      Aw, thank you! I enjoyed the prompt. It was definitely a challenge. I’ve never had to edit something to that short of a length. I’m looking forward to more challenges for sure and am excited that I stumbled across your page. (:

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2013 by in Fiction, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

