jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Creation of Evil

does-God-create-evilA wonderful child of God who is continually seeking posted a commentary on her website today entitled, “Why Did God Create Evil?” The commentary was taken from a Ravi Zacharias.  Upon reading it, you will see that evil is ultimately the absence of good, such as darkness is the absence of light.  I have heard this before, and it has given me a deeper understanding of why the world is the way it is. We may not often understand why things, such as lies, evil, deceit happen, but we can acknowledge that they do.  God has given us free choice because He is a loving god.  He created us so that we could glorify and praise Him all our days.  Now, you may be wondering why He would allow free choice if He knew what was going to happen before it took place, and that is a great mystery.  That is one thing I wish I could answer, but know that God has his reasons; reasons that, as human beings, we are not capable of comprehending.

Mary, the author of My Life with Christ, had a very good question about God creating evil.  She states that Isaiah 45:7 says that God did create evil.  That can be found in the King James version of the Bible, which states:

 I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the Lord do all these things.

However, the New International Version states:

I form the light and create darkness,
I bring prosperity and create disaster;
I, the Lord, do all these things.

You may be wondering which one is correct and which isn’t.  Both are correct.  They are both examples of the translations from the original Hebrew text.  A great way to interpret this, Mary, is to know that God has made everything happen for a reason.  Though I don’t understand to the full extent why God allowed for free choice, enabling sin to come into the world, I can be sure that it is all part of His wonderful plan, which is something we will never be able to wrap our heads around because He is so much mightier than we are, such is His plans for us and this world.

When I read the NIV version, I interpret disaster to be literal, such as floods, hurricanes, earthquakes, etc.  Taking it from that point of view, we can begin to have a little insight into God’s plan.  Through these disasters, many have come to the Lord, seeking for His comfort and the help of the Church.  That is what we as Christians are supposed to do, after all, is to help the orphaned, widowed, helpless. James 1:27

Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.
By helping others through their needs and through disasters, we are conquering “evil” on a smaller level, and bring light to those who are in darkness.  I have written more about this in regards to September 11.
Some people are going to be very skeptical of this, but that is something we will have to put into God’s hands.  He helps us by allowing us to plant the seed by being good disciples and witnessing through our words or actions or both.  But, He is the gardener.  He is the one who nourishes the soul and makes it grow into a beautiful tree, full of many fruits.  So, for those who don’t understand, we can pray for them, continuously, that they will see the light of God in the midst of their dark world.

Similar topics:

 http://graceis.net/392-does-god-create-evil

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

10 comments on “Creation of Evil

  1. fuzzlovefamily
    September 23, 2013

    Thank you so much! :) I don’t really know what to say besides thank you. I feel really grateful that you spent the time to answer my question. I hope that this will help all the others with the same thoughts as well. Glory be to God :D

    • Shannon
      September 23, 2013

      Aw, its my pleasure! Really, anytime. Your post got me thinking too, and that’s why I wanted to answer….that’s part of being sisters in Christ, right? To encourage one another. (: To God be all the glory, for sure! You are an inspiration to those of all levels of faith. Keep doing the work of God! *hugs*

  2. Mr. Atheist
    September 23, 2013

    I guess this goes for suffering as well? The child that is stricken with Leukemia – god has a purpose – yet it is is beyond comprehension, right? I guess, and I mean this as an actual question, how is it beneficial to believers when the “point” is out of reach and “understanding” can never be attained? How is this edifying?

    I guess you have to have evil and suffering as a counterpoint. Right? You can’t possibly watch Star Wars if there is no “bad guy” right? It would make for a really boring movie (let alone a boring story). You need a Darth Vader (Dark Father) or there is no way to enjoy the fleeting nature of happiness.

    Whenever I see this argument, god has a plan, it has always wrinkled me badly. It makes no sense. It is like speaking in tongues. Some say that if someone is not present to translate the speaking in tongues then it is not “valid”. Since suffering an evil cannot be explained because they are beyond comprehension. If they are beyond comprehension then…

    • Shannon
      September 24, 2013

      I wish I could answer about suffering, but I can’t. That is something that IS above my understanding, but that is where faith comes into play. Faith is believing without seeing, to put it into cliche terms. This is what I believe, and though I find it to be right, I do not expect you to feel the same, nor am I trying to shove it down your throat. I’d be happy to find some sources to pull from (pastors, theologians, the Bible), but again, it comes down to what one believes in. You can choose to believe otherwise. My “About Me” page states that my beliefs are founded on Christianity and the death and rising of Jesus Christ, who I believe to be my savior.
      I appreciate that you are willing to state that you don’t understand, and I am willing to accept that you choose not to have the same opinion as me. However, I ask that you will keep in mind that my blog is a place for me to express my own opinions, as is the same for your personal page. Please remember that when reading. If you feel offended, remember that, and skip my post. I am in no intention trying to insult or offend others. I simply am stating my beliefs and trying to help those who share my same beliefs. That is what my faith is.

      • Mr. Atheist
        September 24, 2013

        I was just asking. I wondered the “how” behind the thinking. I didn’t mean to insult.

        • Shannon
          September 24, 2013

          No worries (: I didn’t mean to offend you either, friend. I’ll look into what I can find, but sometimes I don’t even understand. But, I’ll see what I can find and try to answer…

  3. Pingback: Opinions and Beliefs | Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Reading Material | Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2013 by in Faith, Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 777 other followers

