Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

A Day at the Range

About a week ago, my boyfriend invited me to go to the shooting range with him and his

best friend.  My siblings in Texas go a lot, but seeing as I don’t live in Texas, I have never been, so I agreed to go.

This was my "I'm excited to go shoot stuff" face.

This was my “I’m excited to go shoot stuff” face.

I was a little nervous, especially because of the sound.  I didn’t realize how loud it was going to be, even with earplugs in!  It was like firecrackers shooting off right next to your ear.

Me, taking a shot, no pun intended (;

Me, taking a shot, no pun intended (;

Andrew and his friend Chris are both reservists in the military, so they are pros and know exactly what they are doing.

Andrew shooting Chris' rifle.

Andrew shooting Chris’ rifle.

Andrew shooting his pistol

Andrew shooting his pistol

I, on the other hand, needed some help for Andrew.

"Is this how you do it??"  I wasn't really asking that.  I was about to shoot, and was getting the okay. (; Trust me, safety was of the utmost importance.

“Is this how you do it??” I wasn’t really asking that. I was about to shoot, and was getting the okay. (; Trust me, safety was of the utmost importance.

It wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever done, but it was still fun, especially seeing Andrew and Chris interact.  I could just imagine them as little boys when they first became friends, and that was what made the day.  They had a great time just being boys.

Rifle

Checking the targets

Checking the targets

Walking out (when no one was shooting, of course!) to check the targets.

Walking out (when no one was shooting, of course!) to check the targets.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

4 comments on “A Day at the Range

  1. Rick
    August 12, 2013

    Sounds like you got some good training – good form on the pistol there. :) Keep at it – always a good thing to know how to shoot, particularly in those Second Amendment situations.

    • Shannon
      August 12, 2013

      haha Thanks! Yea, it was a bit intimidating…I didn’t realize how much the little thing was going to kick, but, thankfully, I do have a good trainer. (; I couldn’t agree more about those rights too….

  2. Terry
    August 12, 2013

    I have heard that some guns go off actually can knock you to the ground. I can only imagine the loud noise from the guns. Glad you had a good time though

    • Shannon
      August 12, 2013

      Yea, the bigger the gun, the bigger the kick. I’m really glad I didn’t shoot the rifle. My boyfriend did, and you could see it even pushing him back, and he’s a trained Navy Corpsman. Thank you, though (:

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2013 by in College, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

