jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Ballet West is On Pointe

On Pointe is a newer TV series that has just premiered its second season this week.  I can’t say I have personally watched the show, though it is on my to-watch list.  Why am I writing about it, then, you may ask?  Because Utah and Ballet West hold a very special place in my heart.

I CAN DO shirt

Even after all those years, I still have my I.CAN.DO. shirt, and it even fits! It must have been a dress on me, back in the day.

Ballet West is Utah’s world-famous ballet company, which is just one of many performing art centers and programs that are located within the Salt Lake City area.  It caters to the community, providing upstanding and amazing performances, as well as outreach programs.  One such program, known as I.CAN.DO., focuses on elementary students.    I.CAN.DO stands for “Inspiring Children About Not Dropping Out.”  This program goes to different elementary schools within the community to work with children.  The program not only teaches children how to dance and have fun, while being themselves, but also, about the importance of education.

I was blessed to experience this program as a little fifth grader at Rose Park Elementary, located in the midst of skyscrapers and traffic in Salt Lake City.  My brother had first gone through the program when he was in fifth grade, and was invited to continue dance training by the company with the children’s company, called the S.W.A.T. Team.  He absolutely loved it!  It was a great way of expression for the both of us, which showed us it was okay to be ourselves.  I remember waiting eagerly each week for the day to come when the instructors would make their way to our school so that we could practice our dance.  I would twirl around at home, practicing my new moves and showing my parents what to look forward to for the grand performance at the end of the year.

It is truly inspiring and oh-so-cool to see this amazing company making a national appearance on television.  I have high regards, I suppose, for them because of all they offered for me, free, at a young age.  That is for sure one experience I will never forget.  It was not only a fun opportunity, but a great outlet to understand what all the world offers, and how we can find joy within our own physical abilities and spread it outwards to those who enjoy watching dance.  It brings awe and wonder, in addition to that joy.  It instilled in me a love for dance and the performing arts; a love that will never leave.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

One comment on “Ballet West is On Pointe

  1. Pingback: Happy International Dance Day! | Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2013 by in Art, Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

