jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Mistaken Again

What to do? What to do?  I have come into another situation where another man has been getting a little too friendly with me.  I don’t mean physically or anything perverse.  I mean, in the terms of thinking that he can call me whenever and it’s not going to bother me or annoy my boyfriend.  I have mentioned this in the past, don’t mistake my kindness!!

As I have mentioned in the past, I work with the Veterans’ Center of FSU.  I am an editing intern, and as such, help student veterans with their college papers.  Easy enough, right?  Well, I have a friend that kindly helped me bring my kitten to a new home after finding out that I was severely allergic to her.  The action did not go unnoticed and I told him thank you and that I would pay him gas.  He refused and told me about a paper he was working on.  So, being a student veteran, like he is, I told him what I do.  It was set up to help him on his paper in my work environment.  Now, this man knows that I have a boyfriend, and better yet, knows my boyfriend personally.  What has been going on is a waste of my time at work.  I get paid to be there and help student veterans with their papers.  So, when we set up a meeting to work on your paper, that’s what we need to do.  You are a nice person, and a nice friend, but again, only a friend, never more.  I do NOT feel comfortable talking about your sex life, nor do I want to discuss my personal beliefs with you if you are just going to criticize me.  I made it clear to you where I stand with my morals, and also in my relationship with God, and with my boyfriend.  I am extremely happy with my wonderful Andrew, and will be for awhile.  I don’t plan on changing that.  And, if God decides that that isn’t what is right for me right now? I can guarantee you that you aren’t either.  It is not okay to call me multiple times a day.  I appreciate the connections you have gotten me with the FSView, and also with possible editing employment opportunities with regular students.  Please, if you have anymore, send them my way.  However, you have to realize that there is a fine line, and Andrew and I are not happy with how close you have come to this line.  Please realize that hanging out and “getting to know you” time is reserved for after work hours.  I am a busy worker, and a hard worker.  I do not like to compensate my time.  Ever.  Nor do I appreciate having my boyfriend annoyed that another man is trying to grab my attention.  Yes, you may believe that “any women who isn’t married is fair game,” but that is not how I work, nor Andrew.  We are in a happy relationship.  We don’t believe in cheating.  I have already had to speak to him regarding your intrusion, assuring him that I am not at all interested.  I’m glad he is such a trustworthy and great guy, who knows me so well.  Before you try anything else, realize that I am a trustworthy girl too, and I am not going to break that trust with Andrew.  He is special to me, and you aren’t EVER going to change that.

Thanks.

A sincerely annoyed TAKEN girl.

P.S. I am a professional.  Remember that.  I am not your buddy who will skip out on work with you.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 777 other followers

