jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Don’t Mistake My Kindness

What is this world coming to?  When was kindness or friendliness taken as flirting?  Only in Middleburg, I guess.  I have a friend, who, let’s be honest, is more of an acquaintance than anything else.  I know him from high school through an ex-boyfriend of mine.  He’s a nice guy.  He’s in the Army and is leaving for Afghanistan today.  Seeing that, I sent him some words of encouragement and told him to pass along him address when he has it so that I can send a care package.  Now, please understand, I love our military, that is why I do what I do.  That is why I write letters and send care packages to men and women I have never even met.  You are special in the sense of your decision to serve our country, but, by no means, are you special in the sense of date-worthy.  I have a boyfriend.  I only care for your well-being because you are a friend and nothing more.  What ever happen to the days when kindness was expected, rather than being hit on.  I’m flattered that you wanted to flirt with me, and I am sorry to disappoint.   I am way too happy with my relationship right now and don’t see that changing, hopefully ever.  Men, realize that when a lady is being kind or nice, 90% of the time, she is not hitting on you!  It’s in our nature to be caring…well, a good majority of us (the good ones).  You should respect their kindness for what it is and don’t look too much into it, unless there are more significant signs (which can be for talked about at another time).  The good guys will realize this, ladies.  They won’t get hurt or offended, nor will they play dumb over the fact that you are, in fact, in a relationship.  

In the terms of my leaving friend, I am praying for him and ask the same from all of you.  And I do wish him the best, and safety.  It’s nothing personal.  You’re a great guy.  A great FRIEND.  

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

6 comments on “Don’t Mistake My Kindness

  1. praks2271
    July 3, 2013

    So true…Girls are too caring at times and this care is misunderstood by many ;)
    Well written :)

    • Shannon
      July 3, 2013

      Thank you! And, thank you for the follow!

      It just gets plain annoying after awhile, you know? Maybe I’m a traditionalist, who feels the need to show love to everyone I meet, instead of being conformed to fit this cold, hard world, but don’t take it for granted.

      • praks2271
        July 3, 2013

        I am like you then :-) that’s why I followed. I am new om this blogging world, entered yesterday actually and I am glad to find people like you :-)

        • Shannon
          July 3, 2013

          Welcome to the blogging world! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. I’m relatively new as well. I joined a few months ago when I got a new job working within WordPress. And, now I am in love with it! I’ll be sure to head over to your blog and check it out! (:

  2. Pingback: Mistaken Again | Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 777 other followers

