jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Unlock The Cage (7/1/13)

I think we all do this. We ask God to do things for us, almost giving Him directions on how to run our lives. We put Him in a box like a pet, where we actually try to control Him instead of letting God control our lives. God, for one, is always in control of our lives, no matter how hard we try to change that. He will even work our sin into the greater plan He has for us. Not trusting in God, and putting Him in a box is a sin. It’s a form of disobedience. How so? Well, we aren’t listening to His plan for us and following His will. We are wanting to make our own plan and have God be okay with it, no matter what. The bible says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, to give you hope and a future.” This is God’s promise to us. We simply need to let go and let God. Pray for understanding and the ability to trust God, and watch how much your life changes. This is something I have been working on this summer because I struggle with it a ton, especially with my anxiety. What good does it do to worry? It means that I doubt God’s capabilities. Today, I ask God to forgive me for not trusting in Him, and to remember His plan for me.

THE RIVER WALK

Read: 2 Kings 18:13-19:37, Acts 21:1-17, Psalm 149:1-9, Proverbs 18:8

Whom have you been defying and ridiculing? Against whom did you raise your voice? At whom did you look with such haughty eyes? It was the Holy One of Israel! (2 Kings 19:22)

Lion

Relate: As I was reading through today’s scripture, I was thinking about how Hezekiah and Isaiah did not need to try to defend God from the Assyrian’s mockery. All they did was take it to the Lord and let God defend himself. I was going to pull a quote from one of the best spoken word videos I’ve ever seen but it is good enough to watch again in entirety:

The quote I was thinking of is right around 1:50. “Trying to defend God is like trying to defend a lion. It don’t need your help, homey, just unlock the cage.”

React: So often I feel like God does need…

View original post 425 more words

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2013 by in Life.

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

