Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Happiness on a Gloomy Day

Getting a call from my nephew while at work?  Totally makes my day! That’s right!  Today is a gloomy day outside, with the beginnings of Tropical Storm Andrea whirling about in the atmosphere.   It’s one of those days that you would rather spend curled up under the blankets with some snacks, and a good book to read.  But, alas, we must pay the bills.  So, when I see I’m getting a call from my big sis on my phone, and answer to hear the squeaky voice of my five-year-old nephew on the other line, joy is brought to my day, especially when he just wanted to call to talk to me.  Isn’t that adorable?  I miss that little man everyday.

This is a picture of Simon and I making silly faces when I was babysitting him. Adorable kid, right? Also, don't judge me by my face.

This is a picture of Simon and I making silly faces when I was babysitting him. Adorable kid, right? Also, don’t judge me by my face.

 

There has been something else whirling around in my mind today, and that is concern for my boyfriend.  He had to make a two-hour trip out-of-town to update his military ID because it expired, driving in the storm.  Thankfully, it isn’t a hurricane, but I just felt a little nervous knowing that he would be on highway when it was slick with fresh puddles.  I was happy to know that he is safe and has arrived at his destination, and that he is thankful for the prayers I say for him.

Destin

Andrew and I at the beach on a chilly, winter day. This is my favorite picture of us.

So, a rainy day you say?  I don’t mind, as long as I have my two men.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2013 by in Life, Military, Thoughts and tagged , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

