Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Hindering Superpowers

As I sit here at work, slurping down a delicious strawberry yogurt, I can’t help to contemplate why people desire so badly to have the ability to fly.  There are so many other awesome super powers that have been expressed by Marvel and other comics, but when I ask, the most common response I receive is the ability to fly.  Mind you, this is just a random thought, and in no way pertains to my job as a web developer for the Veterans’ Center of FSU, but I’m truly curious.  After pondering this for awhile, while I scrapped up the last bits of my Yoplait, I woImagendered if the reason people want to fly so badly is to be able to feel in control of their surroundings.  Now, this may see farfetched at first, but bare with me.  We live in a big world.  Huge.  And this lovely world that God has given us can be a a little intimidating.  I think that with the ability to fly we will obviously have the chance to see the entire world.  But more, we will see it from a bird eye’s perspective, minimizing this huge world, and placing into the sense of a dollhouse.  Maybe this will make us feel more powerful; not in the way that we are superheroes, but because we can have that dollhouse view.  

When I think of it, and the idea of being able to compress the world into a smaller space, I am enthralled with the idea of flight, but having that changed feeling of power over my surroundings frightens me.  Why, you may ask?  Because with that ability, we would quite possibly loss sight of God and rely on our new ability to control our surroundings, which would push God aside.  He is always in control and we need to not only acknowledge that, but rely on that.  The bible speaks on trust, saying “Trust in the Lord with all your understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight (Proverbs 3:4-7).”  So, instead of wishing for the ability to fly, let us be thankful for this huge world we live in, knowing fully well that, though it may be huge, we won’t get lost or be swallowed up because God is looking over us.

Side note: My ideal superpower would be speed because I love to run, and due to my osteoarthritis in both my knees, do not get the greatest chance to run.   

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

