jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

#FWF Roller Coaster

As I watched the sun rise on the horizon, I felt the wind rush over my hand. Up and down.  Up and down.  Up and down it went as I let the current take control.  That seemed to be my life lately.  Me, just riding the current and watching where it took me.  I would end back at the beginning eventually, right?  Like the undertow of the ocean.  And that wouldn’t be a bad thing.  It meant innocence.  But as of late, I didn’t feel like an innocent.

I reviewed the night’s events over in my mind again as my hand glided swiftly through the air, as he drove on.  A perfectly good man, I thought.  Sweet, handsome, charming.  He had it all.  But, as the night hinted, he had more.

It was going to be date night for us.  He had called early, though, and suggested a weekend get-away instead.  Thrilled, and feeling a little spoiled, I definitely agreed.  I could use a break from the grind, was my initial thought.  We had packed quickly because he wanted to get a good start to arrive at the hotel before it was too late.  Then why are we still driving?  That is where the night’s events rush back again.

Cars.  Speeding.  Mysterious vehicles following our every move.  Swerving in and out, around other travelers.  Much left unexplained.

We still haven’t arrived at any given destination, and I feel this “trip” of ours will be like the movement of my hand.  Ups and downs.  A roller coaster of a ride.  Raging emotions and plenty of adrenaline.  What will become of this?  Am I willing to stay with a man I’m deeply in love with, who hates the government?  Time to strap on the seat belts because this ride is going to more than what we experienced last night.

Original prompt: http://kellieelmore.com/2013/05/24/fwf-free-write-friday-image-prompt-8/

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

22 comments on “#FWF Roller Coaster

  1. Annie (@txstarkeeper)
    May 24, 2013

    Wow — what an emotional piece — our lives are roller coasters aren’t they and sometimes we never know when that next little drop or curve will be there waiting for us.

    Have a great holiday weekend.

    • Shannon
      May 24, 2013

      Thank you! It is true…from a day to day basis.

      I hope you enjoy your weekend as well!

  2. Suzanne
    May 25, 2013

    What a roller coaster of a story. I wonder where she will end up?

    • Shannon
      May 25, 2013

      I actually have been debating whether to continue with this story. It was first inspired by a trip I recently took with my boyfriend, but obviously, there is fiction to it too. Thank you for reading!

      • Kellie Elmore
        May 30, 2013

        I wondered too, like Suzanne. I say go for it and keep writing :)

        • Shannon
          May 31, 2013

          Thank you! It’s in the works (;

  3. cshowers
    May 25, 2013

    Wow – what a scary piece… I hope she gets off that roller coaster. Good story though – you drew me right in. Many blessings to you and have a great Memorial Day weekend!

    Love,
    Cheryl

    • Shannon
      May 25, 2013

      Thank you! God bless you too! I hope you have a fun and safe Memorial Day weekend as well!

  4. Heather
    May 25, 2013

    I think we all had the same kind of idea of what kind of scene we pictured. You, the woman with her hand sticking out and your man, driving the car. What about a road trip with friends?

    • Shannon
      May 25, 2013

      Its really cool to see what everyone comes up with, huh? Thank you for reading!

  5. Pingback: FWF Free Write Friday; Image Prompt | terry1954

  6. Colline
    May 26, 2013

    I am now curious to know where they are going ….

    • Shannon
      May 28, 2013

      I’ve heard that from a couple of people now…I’m considering continuing the story. I’ve never really done much creative writing, but I really enjoyed this one. What do you think?

      • Colline
        May 28, 2013

        I think you should give it a go and see where the story leads.

    • Shannon
      May 29, 2013

      Thanks! I think I will (:

  7. charlesmashburn
    May 27, 2013

    Excellent write. I really enjoyed this one!

  8. Pingback: Love and a Lie #FWF | Inspiration Import

  9. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday; Word Bank | terry1954

  10. Pingback: #fwf Free Write Friday; Time & Place | terry1954

  11. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday; Quote Prompt | terry1954

  12. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday | terry1954

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

