Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

#FWF Nostalgia

“It’s like you feel homesick for a place that doesn’t even exist.” 

That is what describes my past.  A time when I was innocent enough to not understand the harsh realities of the real world.  A time when the only care in the world was what Barbie Doll I was going to play with that day. 

Utah is my home and will always be, no matter where I settle.  It is a place of mythical being almost.  Where the mountains have a certain grandeur to them and are always capped with snow.  A place where evil forces lurk in numbers, riding bicycles and white dress shirts, ties, and name tags.  A place where your imagination can run wild and free.  It is a beautiful place, where the castle is all of Salt Lake City, where I lived.  But that was ten years ago….

I have been back to the glories of the city on a couple of different occasions and have encountered change.  That is what defines life, right?  Change.  It’s how we grow.  This change, though, makes my past even more of a fairytale.  I long for the times when I ran through the neighborhood with my siblings, not a care or worry in the world.  A time when it was completely safe to be outside all day.  I long for the times when we played pogs and marbles, built blanket forts, went on adventures to find new creepy crawlies, and the times that would vanish away as we imagined other lands.  A time long-forgotten, and yet it still seems so real.  I’m homesick for the past, a place that has come to pass and will only exist in my memories. 

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

10 comments on “#FWF Nostalgia

  1. neenslewy
    May 18, 2013

    Beautiful, poignant writing. It struck a chord with me, especially this line;
    I’m homesick for the past, a place that has come to pass and will only exist in my memories.

    • Shannon
      May 18, 2013

      Wow! Thank you! That is really encouraging to me. I’ve visited your page and wish you the best with getting back into writing! (: I have trouble often with getting my nagging of writing out of my head and onto paper, or in this case, the computer.

  2. Annie (@txstarkeeper)
    May 19, 2013

    Shannon…our childhood memories are sometimes best not revisited … but when we can … what joy even with change. My favorite was your ending lines: A time long-forgotten, and yet it still seems so real. I’m homesick for the past, a place that has come to pass and will only exist in my memories.

  3. Shannon
    May 19, 2013

    Thank you, Annie. It is true that the past should remain in the past, but what wonderful memories we are allowed to keep! Thank you for taking your time to read! (:

  4. Kellie Elmore
    May 21, 2013

    I know the feeling well, of being homesick for the past. Lovely piece. Thanks so much for writing with us for FWF. Hope to have you back again soon. :)

    • Shannon
      May 21, 2013

      Thank you! I look forward to the next FWF! (:

  5. heidibarnes11
    May 21, 2013

    There are many times I wish to go back to that time where the reality of being an adult is non-existent. Like you said, “A time when the only care in the world was what Barbie Doll I was going to play with that day.” Or in my case spending most of my time at the pool turning out. It also seems the older I get the more I wish for that innocence.

    • Shannon
      May 21, 2013

      I couldn’t agree more. I’m in college right now, and sometimes I just want to call my mommy and crawl back into my eight-year-old self. Thank you for stopping by!

  6. Heather
    May 21, 2013

    Maine has a special place in my heart but the place that I grew up always gave me that special magical feeling in my fingers and my head. I love your post, it helped me think how much my hometown means to me.

    • Shannon
      May 22, 2013

      Thank you! It took me awhile to find how much my hometown meant to me, as well, but now I wouldn’t change it for the world. It has become a part of me, and helps to define who I am.

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

