jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Update on Melissa Boyett

Hey everyone,

I wanted to thank all of you for your thoughts and prayers over this past week for Melissa, her family, and her friends.  It definitely has been a roller coaster.  Melissa has met Jesus.  She went to be with our Lord and Savior last Tuesday.  Though this was hard news to swallow and still is very sorrowful, I am filled with joy knowing that she is no longer in pain and is praising the Lord in Heaven day-in and day-out.

Losing someone you know and love is never easy, though, even if you know that it is coming.  Not that we were hanging on for the moment, but when a medical condition that is life-threatening is involved, it is not always a sudden, out-of-the-blue event.  I have experienced this before, when my father lost his battle with cancer.  Losing Melissa reminded me of that time in which my father was suffering.

Just by reflecting on that, I hurt so bad last week.  Knowing that others were filled with the sorrow I felt.  I am so glad to know for certain, 100% that Melissa is now dancing with Jesus, though.  She lived a life that exalted Him in every way.  From everything she did to everything she said, thick and thin.  She used all of her experiences with her battle with Cystic Fibrosis to be a witness to those around her.  Her testimony is truly moving and I wish that I could share her video with you.  I think that is what is the hardest to deal with, though, when reflecting on losing my father.  I am not sure where he is.  Its so extremely hard for me to say that, but it is the truth.  I want to believe so badly that he is with God in Heaven, and is not suffering for all eternity, but I cannot be sure of his beliefs.  It is a comfort to know where Melissa’s destination was.

I know some of you may disagree with me on my beliefs and Heaven versus Hell, and I am not trying to call anyone out or anything.  If you do have questions, please do not hesitate to ask, though.  I’ll attach a forum thingy at the end of this post.  That is what has made this process though, bearable.  Knowing Melissa’s in a better place now.  As for my dad, that is something that I will one day find out when I meet our Savior.  In the meantime, I will have to ask the Lord for peace because it has tormented me for years.  (I lost my father when I was thirteen, eight years ago.)

Thank you everyone for your prayers and thoughts.  In regards to the future, just pray for her family and friends as the prepare for her memorial service, and dealing with the lost of someone who was loved by all.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by in Faith, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

