jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Oblivion Left Me Oblivious!

Last Friday I went and saw the new Tom Cruise movie “Oblivion” with my boyfriend.  It looked great according to the trailers, but they lied! 

The movie started off with a probable explanation of how Earth was destroyed, which was a plus.  A lot of times movies come up with some ridiculous means of ending the world, which can no-way be possible.  Yes, I know it’s just a movie, but sometimes you want something a little different, you know?  And that’s when you rely on reality.

Anyway, back to the movie.  Some of the most notable issues I had with the movie were the corny dialogue and the bad makeup.  Vicka, one of the main characters, looked sick the entire movie, though she was in perfectly good health.  However, the other main female lead, Julia (maybe it was Julian.  I don’t remember) was supposed to be sickly when she emerged from a sixty year sleep.  You could physically see the foundation and lip gloss loaded onto her face.  Really, people. 

Then, as the movie progressed, what seemed probable at first, turned out to be a story line that made absolutely no sense!  When asking my boyfriend after the movie what he thought, he said he loved it and I responded by saying it made no sense what-so-ever.  Even after he tried to explain it….nope, nothing.  Poorly written in my opinion.  I felt as though there was a lack of funding or actors willing to participate in the movie, or both. 

Needless to say, I was less than impressed and advise you to save your money to see it when it’s not in theaters anymore, but out on DVD.  Or better yet, spend 2 1/2 hours of your time (yes, you read that right. 2 and a freaking! 1/2 hours!) doing something productive that won’t rot your brain. 

If you are looking for a star rating from five stars, I would give it maybe, at the most, a two.  Nope, 1 and 1/2.  That is all.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

4 comments on “Oblivion Left Me Oblivious!

  1. cowboyography
    May 1, 2013

    The trailers looked good? I think this film looks like terrible hollywood Schlock, Tom Cruise has not made a good film since Kubrick died!

    • Shannon
      May 1, 2013

      Haha! To say the least, it looked entertaining. I did enjoy the Mission Impossible movies, but I’m more of someone that just enjoys good entertainment and doesn’t know much about the film industry to be honest. I’m not going to lie, I just had to Google who Kubrick was….Either way, I’m glad that I’m not the only one with such an opinion on the matter of this awful movie.

  2. derrickhiggins
    May 1, 2013

    As soon as I saw the trailer, I felt a bit cautious about seeing this one. Maybe that was the right call, after all. Vlizz is a movie news and review site; we found Oblivion to be “mediocre”. http://vlizz.com/2013/04/21/oblivion-review-a-sound-design-back-massage-featuring-tom-cruise/

    • Shannon
      May 1, 2013

      Interesting review. Although, I would have to say that in my opinion, it wasn’t the most interesting movie I have seen this year…but maybe that’s because I have high hopes for Iron Man 3. Haha! Thank you for checking out my blog! (:

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

