jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Lip Makeover

I wore too much makeup in high school

I wore too much makeup in high school

Have you ever wondered what you would look like with alterations to your body without having to worry about plastic surgery?  I honestly haven’t, but unfortunately was still able to get a glimpse this week. 

I am a big fan of braces.  Even though I spent four and half years of my life, which was all of high school in them.  Yes, four and a half YEARS.  On a side note, I looked pretty cute as a brace face.  Either way, they made my buck teeth that looked like a beaver’s go away and provided me with a great smile despite the surgery, pain, wires, and rubber bands.  Well, I thought I would be done with all this annoyance and pain that came with braces once they were taken off, but news flash everyone!  This is just the beginning.

I have been without braces for close to four years now and still have to wear my retainers every night.  Sexy, right?  No.  What happened is that I do not have adult teeth in my back part of my mouth, top or bottom.  They are all baby teeth and will forever remain babies.  There are no adults to be seen, even in the x-rays.  After I got my braces off, I had to get one of my baby teeth pulled.  I now have a big gap in the back of my mouth.  I’m not talking hillbilly style here, people.  Thankfully, it does not show!  And I cannot tell you how glad I am to not fit in with my hometown in Florida….But I won’t comment on that right now.  My retainers have a false tooth on them to hold that spot until my dentist and orthodontist figure out how to set my teeth straight.  (Okay, okay, I know.  Bad pun, right?)

What does this have to do with fake body parts?   Well, for the past week my stupid retainers have been giving me a hugomungous blister on my top lip.  I think I have been sucking on my lip while I sleep, so that it is pinched by my retainer.  And wow! Has it been painful or what!?  For a couple of days I couldn’t even smile without looking stupid and being extremely painful.  My lips have become extremely puffy this week, giving me an almost Angelina Jolie type of look.  Great, right?  Well, let’s just say I don’t pull it off very well.

My whole point here is, that if you are curious what you would look like with enhanced body parts, maybe try it out before getting plasticized (yes, I know that isn’t a real word).  Where a retainer that kills you lips.  Stuff your bra with tissues and wear sticky boobs to enhance sized.  Shove a smaller round pillow down your pants to enlarge your butt.  If it doesn’t look great, my advice to you is don’t pay for it!  And in the meantime, I hope you don’t have to deal with the pain of the after effect of braces.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2013 by in Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 776 other followers

