Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

In Response to Jumping Off the Ladder

I follow a pretty interesting blog called Tshirts and Twine, which is all about living simply.  The other day they posted a challenge called, “Jump Off the Ladder Challenge.”  Now, this challenge is a great idea, in my personal opinion.  You learn to live more with less.  However, I also found it slightly amusing.  I am a college student and what the challenge is asking is pretty much to live like a college student!  So folks, if you are looking to relive your college years, pull out the Ramen Noodles, and jump off your ladder!  In the meantime, I will gladly be staying where I am on the ladder because, well, let’s face it, college kills any idea of money, leisure living, or any such thing of the sorts.  This is simple living.  I’m learning just now how to begin this whole ladder thing, and I’m not even one to strive for success through money, necessarily.  Yes, I want to be able to make enough to support myself and a family in the future, but in no way am I looking to be America’s next millionaire.  However, that is a side note.  So, back to my point.  If you miss college, the idea of being broke, and living a simple life, check out their blog!  And please know, that in no way, am I degrading or dissing their idea.  I believe its a wonderful idea! And I think many need to try it out.  So, have a look! And let me know how it goes!

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

3 comments on “In Response to Jumping Off the Ladder

  1. Amanda (Tshirts & Twine)
    April 11, 2013

    Haha, I love your take on this! Ultimately the challenge is about adjusting our mindset. If you aren’t already obsessed with spending money, or battling clutter, you don’t need to participate! I think the fact that you are trying to stay away from the trap of ultra-consumerism is awesome. I’m sure that a lot of people who are now trying to downsize their lives wish they’d never bought into a lifestyle of excess in the first place (I know I did!) Keep on keepin’ on, friend. :)

    • Shannon
      April 11, 2013

      Hehe Thanks! I grew up without really having the excess that many children have today. I’ve spent my whole life without cable television. My brother and I didn’t even get our first gaming system, which was a PS1 in our house until we were both in our teens. Sometimes, I worry about the direction our future generations are going to take. I value traditional values….reading a book; spending the whole day outside in the sunshine, being a kid. And being in college, I feel like its just another way to accept and enjoy the simplicities of life. Don’t get me wrong, there will always be those items that people want; people are species of desire, and let’s be honest here, I would love to own my own car! But the reality is, college makes you broke. haha! But objects shouldn’t be the source of happiness, and that’s why I think it is so awesome you are challenging the world to take this on. I hope that it will become a large following, where we can turn back to the greater pleasures in life. Good luck with your challenge!! (:

  2. Pingback: May’s Jump Off The Ladder Challenge | frogandcount

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2013 by in College, Life, Thoughts and tagged , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

