Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Easter Weekend

cross

Okay, so about a week ago I had mentioned that I made a big decision.  Maybe its not that monumental, but to me it was a big deal.  I am one of those types of people who strive to do my best, sometimes being the over-achiever type.  I often take on too many things at once and then stress myself out.  As you guys may have noticed, I held the position of Webmaster Chair for the Thank A Soldier Organization of FSU.

 It’s a really awesome organization that is actually in the process of going national!  And it all started here four years ago.  Unfortunately, it is also a very time-consuming organization that started getting in the way of work.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love TASO and what it stands for, but sometime a line needs to be drawn, and after some other issues, I decided to step down from my position.  This was a big deal for me because I hate being a quitter.  I mean, who enjoys that?  I always feel like I’m letting so many down because of my decision.  But I am juggling 16 credit hours of school, an internship, a job, and trying to manage some time to spend with my boyfriend, even if we are studying (exciting couple, right?).

Anyway, I decided to step down.  This was one of those moments where I was fed up with all the personal crap that was going on within the officer board.  You get a bunch of girls together, and there’s bound to be drama.  That being the case, drama was happening and me, not being the typical girl that has no problem with drama (yea…maybe that’s a bit too stereotypical….) decided I was fed up with it all.  Why are there always rumors spread about me, when I do nothing to provoke them?  Seriously, I mind my own business in things like this, just focusing on what has to be done. Period.

Anywho, I stepped down, explaining why exactly I was doing so.  What shocks me the most about this, though, is that not one fellow officer cares! Our president hasn’t even stepped up to the plate to see why one of her officers has stepped down.  Even if you don’t like me, I think that’s a really unprofessional thing to do; you should, as a leader, see what ways you can improve your board of members.

Now, what does all of this have to do with Easter?  I am a firm believer and follower in Christ.  I was saved at a very young age, and have gone through a lot of trials, watching my faith grow.  This by no way means that I am “Holier than Thou.”  Not in the least bit.  I am growing and learning just like everyone else.  And Easter weekend I had one of those experiences.

Being pretty frustrated and upset about the whole TASO thing, I have been feeling pretty abandoned.  I thought many of these girls were my friends and would care about what was going on with me.  And I think Jesus felt the same way.  I came to realize this past weekend that when Jesus was on the cross, He was not just feeling the “major” sins that us humans always claim are the worst.  First off, all sin is equal in God’s eyes.  Sin is sin.  That’s it.  There isn’t one that’s better or worse than the other.  Anyway, Jesus felt all sin and was wondering why God had forsaken him.  He felt pretty abandoned too.  Remembering this, and realizing how much He really suffered that day on the cross, really put things into perspective for me.  It made me come to an even deeper understanding of what Easter is all about and how blessed I am.  Sure, these girls aren’t necessarily true friends, but I have some amazing friends here, and most importantly, an amazing relationship with God, even if I don’t deserve it.  See, He loves me so extremely much, that He died on the cross, and suffered everyone’s sin, past, present, and future sin, while dying just to ensure thatcould have a relationship with Him! Talk about amazing love! And you know what, this isn’t just exclusive to me.  He died for EVERYONE.  He wants to have a personal relationship with every person.  Praise the Lord for that!  And praise the Lord for sending His ONLY son to die for me!

Though my situation isn’t ideal, I take comfort in the fact that I have Jesus, and His situation was nowhere close to being ideal.  I hope that this will encourage you today, if you are experiencing some struggles of your own.  I still love TASO, but I know through much prayer that I made the right decision, and am excited to see where God will lead me next.  This is just part of my journey on a road leading to God.  Where will yours take you?

If there is anything you are struggling with and would like someone to pray for you, please comment below!  I will be more than happy to do the best thing I can for you, and that is to go to Father obediently and humbly in prayer.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2013 by in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

