Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

As a child, I was surrounded by dolls of all sorts because my mom was an avid collector.  One of her best collections was her Precious Moments dolls.  I always enjoyed looking at the collection, standing on tippy-toe to get the best view.  She had her whole collection placed on top of our entertainment center.  I could get lost in all the characters, thinking of stories and why they were who they were.  One of my favorite Precious Moments was a ballerina that hung from a stand, so that if you touched her, she would spin and spin around in circles, doing pirouettes.  I was fascinated by her, and loved the idea of being a ballerina.  There was something glorious and almost magical about the idea.

When I was eleven, we decided to move across the country to Florida.  That meant selling a lot of our collections, furniture, and other odds and ends that were not considered necessities.  So like any good American, we shared our items with the general public in a three-day garage sale.  We sold a lot of items that held some dear memories, but the most heart-wrenching was selling my mother’s Precious Moments collection.  The items went to many different individuals, including some pieces to my life long friend, Anna.  Anna was lucky because she bought the magical ballerina.  Though sad, I was thankful that it would be taken care of and held dear.

A few years ago, I received a package for my birthday from Anna.  it contained a lot of fun little goodies, such as books, bookmarks, stuffed animals, and odds and ends.  Included in her box of fun, though, was the ballerina.  I couldn’t believe it!  She had written a note explaining how she knew how much the Precious Moment meant to me and thought that it should be returned (kind of) to its owner.  It meant the world to me!  For someone to remember something so small like that, and to return the item once we were settled?! That is one definition of a best friend.

So, today the Precious Moment ballerina sits on my shelf, still mystifying me every time I look at it.  I was fortunate enough to experience the life of a dancer during my high school years and now have a little of an understanding with the ballerina.  I still get lost in a world of imagination when I look at her, and I know I will never forget Anna’s action towards me and this ballerina.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

5 comments on “Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

  1. Mr. Atheist
    April 2, 2013

    Love the full circle story. Cool!

    • Shannon
      April 2, 2013

      Thank you!

  2. lly1205
    April 2, 2013

    This is so sweet, I’m glad your ballerina was returned to you!

    Lily

    • Shannon
      April 2, 2013

      Thank you! I am truly blessed to have such loving and caring friends.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Prized Possessions | Life Is a Highway

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

