Walking Shoes

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Peter Pan Meets Reality Part 2

It has now been ten days since I hit the big 21, and I am still working on my birthday cake.  First sign that I have priorities of an adult: Weight and how unhealthy cake is for me.  I justify this, though, by the fact that it was my birthday, and therefore, I should eat cake.  What hit me the most about growing up, though, was yesterday when I was eating a piece I had specifically set aside for myself, and not for anyone else.  I know it sounds selfish, right?  But, hey, it was my cake.  Hehe.  Anyway, I always go for the most frosted part of the cake, with the extra flowery toppings and what-not.  I have been strongly known for my sweet tooth.  There have been days when I would buy a jar of frosting just to simply dip my spoon in and enjoy the sugary goodness that came out.  But, as I grow up, I see those days are over!  As I was eating this delicious piece of cake, I felt a weird burning in my throat.  No, it wasn’t an allergic reaction, thank God!  I’ve experienced one to many of those, but it was rather my throat trying to coat itself with saliva to get rid of the swarm of sugar.  It was too much for me.  Instead of a sugar rush to my nerves, I had a disgusting sugar rush to my taste buds! I didn’t even finish the piece of cake!  Goodbye, childhood.  Now that I completely have grossed you out, enjoy a piece of cake for me!

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , .

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

