jotted notes dotted lines

"Walk By Faith, Not By Sight" 2 Corinthians 5:7

Peter Pan Meets Reality

So, this past weekend, I signed my first lease ever.  Exciting, right?  I am beyond stoked.  But as I think about it more and more, I realize that I do not have to option to never grow up, but am, in fact, becoming a young, independent adult.  Part of me is so excited to take on the world, and be done with school, in order to really start my life.  But the other part of me, not so much.

I will be moving into my new townhouse with my fellow roommates a little after this semester ends.  Unfortunately, the reality has hit me that my mom will not be here to help me. Reality check #1.  Being tied to other obligations, she will not be able to make the trip up here.  Another reason it will not work for her to come is due to the fact that I will have work and a certain date I am allowed to move in.  Reality check #2: responsibilities take priority.  This leads me to another fact:

In order to start my life, I have to take on responsibilities and grow up.  In the process of all of this, I have started my first office job this past week, which actually has allowed me to permanently move here.  Yay! But, that means also less free time, and managing my schedule in order to study to pass my classes because if I don’t study, I won’t pass my classes, which means I won’t graduate, and inevitably, I won’t be able to really start my life.

So, the pros and cons of this process?  Pros: money, a job, my own house, being an independent.  Cons: Being an independent, bills, no more “Let me talk to my mom.”

I have come to the conclusion that as much as my mom and her rules drive me up the wall, without them I would not be where I am today.  It’s a scary, yet exhilarating thought that I will be abiding by my own rules, yet I’m beginning to realize that I don’t know what I would do without the woman who let me be a Peter Pan for so long.  There is no way to avoid this, but I know that my mom’s opinion will always matter to me, and no matter how much of a grown-up I am, I will always resort back to the one and only. So, goodbye Neverland, and hello reality.

About Shannon

Hi! I'm Shannon, a lover of dogs, coffee, books, words, and Jesus! I hold a Bachelor's in English, with a minor in Communications from Florida State University (Go 'Noles!). Take a peak around, meet Tucker, my rescue mutt, and say 'Hi!'

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , .

Navigation

Copyright

© livelovelaughdancepray 2014

LinkedIn

Find me on LinkedIn:
Shannon Mitchell

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 767 other followers

