Spiritual Warfare

Have you ever experienced an almost un-human, or other-worldly event?  I’m not talking aliens here, or ghosts.  I’m talking spiritually.  An encounter with God?  Angels?  Demons?  Last night, I had one of those experiences.

My mom has recently been called down a new path.  She has been a teacher for as long as I can remember, and perfectly so.  Prior to living in Florida, she was a teacher.  The ten years we have been in Florida, she has taught.  She is like a little kid in an adult’s body.  She fun, and silly, as well as a great discipliner.  Trust me, I know.  However, she has come to some realizations with teaching.  First off, our education system here in Florida sucks.  I say that as both a daughter of a teacher, and a byproduct of the system.  I’m a student.  And, that’s my opinion.  Also, she hasn’t been getting as much enjoyment lately from it.  Now, you may be saying that finding displeasure in work is just part of the process.  Sometimes, that is the case.  But, my mom has also felt as though there is more for her.  She has been stressed at work, and has felt anxious, and unsettled, like she was supposed to be doing something more.

Last summer, she was given some more insight into this.  She went on her first mission’s trip to Alaska, and loved every single moment of it.  She explained to me how she never had felt so much joy before, and it was because she was serving the Lord.  God was working a miracle on my mom, as well.  She had been suffering from arthritis pain leading up to this trip, and while she was on it, as well as after, she felt like she could do anything, pain-free.  But, what was most amazing about this trip was the confirmation she was given.  She was given confirmation from God that she was to do more; to leave her job and work elsewhere. 

It has been a difficult, exciting, emotional, crazy, spiritual journey for my mom, based solely on faith and trust in God.  Through much prayer and more confirmation, she was shown to leave her job, which she did.  After this last school year ended, she decided to not re-up her contract, but to call it.   She didn’t have anything lined up, nor really a clue where to go from there; all she has is a church family praying over her and a faithful God watching over her, and guiding her every move.

He has led my mom to work as a missionary now, which is just so amazing.  Never, in a million years, would I nor my mom, guessed this for her life, and that is the beauty of it.  God always has a plan and it is always something that is so amazing and great that we can never imagine. “”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord.” (Jeremiah 29:11a)

Part of following God’s plan and will for our lives, however, is spiritual warfare.  It is real.  It is here.  It is all around us.  And, it is terrifying.  “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour (1 Peter 5:8).”  The enemy has been on the prowl.  Two nights ago, before I started this post, I had an encounter with the enemy. 

It happened at one o’clock in the morning.  As I lay in bed, I had what would seem like a dream, but wasn’t, for a fact.  It was in the spiritual realm, in a way.  I opened my eyes, seeing my room as it would be when looking around my room at one o’clock in the morning any other time, with the lights out.  My fan was clicking away, as it always does.  All of the sudden, everything went silent, like I was plugging my ears, and something was there, in my room.  It was above my bed hovering.  I knew immediately that it was not a dream.  It was Satan.  I started repeating Jesus’ name, over and over.  Scripture tells us, You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder (James 2:19).”  Satan flees at the name of God because He sent His son Jesus Christ to die on the cross to overcome sin.  Sin is of Satan.  Satan enticed Adam and Eve in the garden with his lies and deceit.  But, Jesus is victorious!  He overcame death and raised from the dead on the third day.  Satan knows that.  By repeating Jesus’ name, Satan fled. Immediately, sound came back and I was able to see clearly.  Before, I could see, but I could not look around.  I was paralyzed with fear.  But, I remembered, “The Lord is my light and my salvation— whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid? (Psalm 27:1).”  He is All Powerful, the Creator of All.  When I became conscious and fully aware of what just happened, I wanted to cry.  I immediately started to pray, and reached for my bible.  I read the scripture, prayed more, called Jesus’ name more and more, rebuked Satan, and sang.  God was here with me.  He was going to protect me and still will.  

The following morning (yesterday morning), I told my mom what happened.  She told me how she had recently met with the directors of the location in which she is pursuing a missionary position and was told that to be prepared, that when we follow God’s Word, and calling, and obey Him, well, Satan doesn’t like that.  The enemy will attack her and our family.  It’s true.  It’s real.  It happened.  But, I was armed and ready.  The bible speaks on preparing us for spiritual warfare.  Jesus was tempted three times by Satan, and each time he overcame by replying with the Word of God; scripture.  Say a verse.  God will be with you.  The bible tells us to expect spiritual warfare.  It says in Ephesians 6:12, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”  But, what is awesome, is that, although the bible speaks on how to be aware of spiritual warfare, we can also prepare.  Ephesians 6: 10-20 gives us a full explanation of how to fight, and prepare for battle:

“The Armor of God

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. 19 Pray also for me, that whenever I speak, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.”

A truly terrifying experience, but I know how to be prepared.  I ask that you will pray over me, my household away from my family, and also my family.  Keep my mom especially in your prayers.  Remember, also, to encourage one another in the Word.  You never know when someone will need to hear the Word to be prepared for battle. 

 Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings. -1 Peter 5: 8-9

 

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. -Jeremiah 29:11

 

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. -Romans 12:12

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_OTz-lpDjw

 

4 thoughts on “Spiritual Warfare

  1. Pingback: Our God Is Greater | Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray

  2. Pingback: Teach An Old Dog New Tricks | Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray

  3. Hey! I’m so glad you sent me this post! We always have to be armed and ready, especially when we are flowing in our purpose because Satan is busy! Great post!

Talk to Me

